The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 28, 2007, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
relative terms

First off, I understand the definitions of pass and traveling. I used the term "pass" not in contradiction to the rule book but to say what the players intentions were. He did it to pass the ball to himself to give himself an advantage over the defender.
Second, I wasn't saying the player traveled, I was simply saying that the number of steps could possibly have an impact on the call. No one else had mentioned that so I thought I'd bring up that as a possible point to be addressed.

So, if this is a dribble, then it is a violation of 4-15-2. During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is "touched" again with the hand(s). We're not talking about dribbling again, shooting, or passing. We are talking about "TOUCHING", PERIOD!! Thus, when he caught the ball, he touched it before it struck the floor, it immediately became a violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1