The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2007, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
First off:
I need to apologize...grumble...for yelling yesterday...mumble, mumble...not professional...impersonating Dan...under pressure to hold up a metal softball bat during a thunderstorm...sorry.

Ok, let me tell you it really worries me that I am on the same side as OS and Nevada... However, I understand JR's and Mark's position, that if there's a legal dribble, and it's ended, and not started again, there is no violation. In fact, all of the "illegal dribble" violations listed in 9-5 have to do with dribbling a second time after ending the first dribble. But there's that pesky 4-15-2, which says, "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)." This absolutley fits the play in the OP, so, JR and Mark, are you saying the touching again before the ball hits the floor (the catch-and-shoot) is simply "ending the dribble"? Isn't 4-15-2 saying the second touch is not allowed at all, not just the end of a legal dribble? If it was the end of a legal dribble, wouldn't that second touch also be mentioned in 4-15-4?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1