The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:06pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The player is starting a dribble.
Interesting. I hadn't noticed that the case play is about starting the dribble. But I don't see how it can be legal to bat the ball in the air during a dribble, take several steps, and then catch the ball. I think the case play has to cover the play under discussion. The bat and subsequent catch would have to be an illegal dribble, no?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Interesting. I hadn't noticed that the case play is about starting the dribble. But I don't see how it can be legal to bat the ball in the air during a dribble, take several steps, and then catch the ball. I think the case play has to cover the play under discussion. The bat and subsequent catch would have to be an illegal dribble, no?
I agree. In the OP A1 is dribbling down court in a 1 and 1 situation. Bat, toss, throw the ball over B1's head, then catch it constitutes an illegal dribble. Again, the ruling in 4.15.4(rule "when the dribble ends") Sit.E(b) specifically states "since the ball did not touch the floor, the toss and the subsequent catch is an illegal dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But I don't see how it can be legal to bat the ball in the air during a dribble, take several steps, and then catch the ball.
Scrappy, if the player fumbled the ball, took several steps and then caught the ball, would that be illegal also? Can you cite a rule that says it is illegal?

Casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) says that you can't continue to dribble after you make a second touch during a single dribble. It doesn't say that its illegal to end a dribble that way though. The player simply ended a legal dribble. What he subsequently does will determine the further legality of the play.

Casebook play 4.15.4SitE(b) is about starting a dribble. There never was a legal dribble because the ball never touched the floor before the illegal second touching. Rule 4-15-1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1