![]() |
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Nevadaref This player, who was in control of the ball, went from A to B without properly dribbling. Since he was not holding the ball during transit, he cannot be penalized for travelling, thus illegal dribble is the correct offense. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE> Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NFHS rule 4-31-- "A pass is movement of the of the ball caused by a player who throws, <b>BATS</b> or rolls the ball to <b>another</b> player." The NCAA rule is basically the same. Rule 4-15 defines a bat as intentionally striking the ball with the hand(s). The NCAA rule is basically the same. Ipw, you sureashell can pass the ball by batting it. Haven't you ever heard of a freaking tip pass? I'm well aware of what you <b>contend</b>. Unfortunately, your contentions are completely wrong. Again. Always. Forever. And ever! If you don't know or understand these very basic rules, howinthehell can you tell anybody what is a correct call or not? Lah me, it just never ends......:rolleyes: |
Quote:
I was with M&M and Camron until this question came up, and now I'm on the other side. I think the highly referenced 4-15-2 could be worded this way to make more sense...."During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the dribbler can continue that dribble." That said, to catch the ball after the bat is legal, but to touch the ball after the bat in an effort to continue the dribble, before it hits the floor is a violation. |
Quote:
So, the obvious, extreme example would be where A1 taps the ball over B1, runs around and taps the ball again over B2, gets to it and taps it over B3, all without the ball ever hitting the ground. Anyone see that as a legal play? Of course not, due to 4-15-2. You cannot say the taps ever ended the dribble, because it does not meet any of the criteria in 4-15-4. And, if the dribble never ended, you cannot call it a travelling violation, because you cannot travel during a dribble. So what made it an illegal dribble? The second touch before it was allowed to hit the ground. |
Quote:
Quote:
It is also my contention that people who played the game make the best referee's. They won't have any problems recognizing this play and the violation. Bottom line, officials that never played are the only ones that will argue that this play is legal and attempt to justify it. |
Quote:
An unrelated rule/case (traveling) says that a player holding the ball can toss the ball into the air and catch it as long as the pivot foot doesn't move. If the pivot foot does move, it is traveling. This rule has no relationship to what is or is not a legal dribble. Rule 4-15-2 quite clearly says the dribbler can, during a dribble, bat it into the air but that if they do they may not touch it again until after it has bounced. There are no exceptions for the situation where the "touch" ends the dribble. The mere touch itself is the violation. I'm really puzzled about why this is so hard to get. The grammar in 4-15-2 is not that complicated. |
Quote:
Unfortunately, that hasn't got anything to do with <b>ending</b> a dribble. If the ball doesn't hit the floor, you don't have a "during the dribble". The dribble <b>ended</b>! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Here's <b>three</b> of your posts in this thread: 1) <i>"Somebody needs to define the word bat in the federation code. To me Bat does <b>NOT</b> mean pass."</i> 2) <i>"The OP threw the word BAT in there which I contend you can <b>NOT</b> bat and pass the ball at the same time."</i> 3) <i>"I contend that you can <b>NOT</b> bat and pass the ball at the same time. Either you passed the ball or batted the ball."</i> The issue is that you're now trying to say that you understand something when you've already posted at least three times showing that you don't have a clue what we were talking about. You've been quite insistent that a "bat" and a "pass" are completely different things. You also thought that a "bat" wasn't defined in the rules when it sureashell is. The only reason that you <b>might</b> understand now is because I cited the damn rules to you. I told you way back that you were completely wrong, and that you should look up the proper rules. Well, you wouldn't, or more likely couldn't, do that-- so you've been posting your completely wrong bullpucky ever since. If you don't own a rule book or understand basic rules, don't pretend. |
Quote:
If the dribble ends, it's simply impossible for the second touch to happen <b>during</b> the dribble. Apples and krill. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am. |