The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Lah me.....
Nice! Another appearance of "Lah me..." That's the JR we know!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 05:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's the JR we know!
And love......

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Beavercreek, Oh
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to udbomber
New casebook scenario this year

Read the new casebook scenario this year with the asterik.

General rule is: there is no backcourt violation on throw-ins but all backcourt rules still apply meaning you can throw the ball into the backcourt on a throw-in after being in the frontcourt but you have to watch player location on the throw-in.

If player receives pass in the air from his leaving his feet in the frontcourt last and the defensive player touches the inbounds pass, you now immediately have to go with player location at that moment which in this case is the receiving player being in the frontcourt, receives inbounds pass and now lands in the backcourt for a violation.

A shot off the rim touching the offensive man and into the backcourt shows no possession yet so legal to retrieve ball in backcourt.

Same for an inbounds pass from baseline with throw lofting to the half-court line where a receiving offensive player is not sure where his location is so he jumps and tips the ball into the backcourt making it all legal with no possession. But if touched by defense on inbounds pass, it ends and player location is immediately established. Mid-court immediately becomes an out of bounds line for offense.
I love this game.
Alan
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
Read the new casebook scenario this year with the asterik.

General rule is: there is no backcourt violation on throw-ins but all backcourt rules still apply meaning you can throw the ball into the backcourt on a throw-in after being in the frontcourt but you have to watch player location on the throw-in.

If player receives pass in the air from his leaving his feet in the frontcourt last and the defensive player touches the inbounds pass, you now immediately have to go with player location at that moment which in this case is the receiving player being in the frontcourt, receives inbounds pass and now lands in the backcourt for a violation.

A shot off the rim touching the offensive man and into the backcourt shows no possession yet so legal to retrieve ball in backcourt.

Same for an inbounds pass from baseline with throw lofting to the half-court line where a receiving offensive player is not sure where his location is so he jumps and tips the ball into the backcourt making it all legal with no possession. But if touched by defense on inbounds pass, it ends and player location is immediately established. Mid-court immediately becomes an out of bounds line for offense.
I love this game.
Alan
You may love this game, but you're still wrong.
We know about the new play rulings. You are still wrong.

Do you want me to explain why to you or shall we let you live in ignorant bliss?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
Read the new casebook scenario this year with the asterik.

General rule is: there is no backcourt violation on throw-ins but all backcourt rules still apply meaning you can throw the ball into the backcourt on a throw-in after being in the frontcourt but you have to watch player location on the throw-in.

If player receives pass in the air from his leaving his feet in the frontcourt last and the defensive player touches the inbounds pass, you now immediately have to go with player location at that moment which in this case is the receiving player being in the frontcourt, receives inbounds pass and now lands in the backcourt for a violation.

A shot off the rim touching the offensive man and into the backcourt shows no possession yet so legal to retrieve ball in backcourt.

Same for an inbounds pass from baseline with throw lofting to the half-court line where a receiving offensive player is not sure where his location is so he jumps and tips the ball into the backcourt making it all legal with no possession. But if touched by defense on inbounds pass, it ends and player location is immediately established. Mid-court immediately becomes an out of bounds line for offense.
I love this game.
Alan
You are so wrong it's hard to decide where to start.

It doesn't matter who touches the ball. If no team control is established, the "offensive" team can recover the ball in their backcourt any time.

You're getting confused about two very different scenarios.

If a player tips a throw-in pass, then an offensive player catches the ball while airborne from the frontcourt he/she creates player and team control with frontcourt status at that time. When he/she lands in the backcourt, it's a backcourt violation.

The only time a player can jump from his/her frontcourt, catch the ball, and land in his/her backcourt is during a throw-in. That is the 9.3.3 exception. It has nothing to do with recovering a ball that has backcourt status.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
The only time a player can jump from his/her frontcourt, catch the ball, and land in his/her backcourt is during a throw-in. That is the 9.3.3 exception. It has nothing to do with recovering a ball that has backcourt status.
Speaking of being wrong...

What are you missing?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Speaking of being wrong...

What are you missing?
Well darn. I'm just making a regular horse's behind of myself today.

The other time a player can jump from his/her frontcourt, catch the ball while airborne and land in his/her backcourt is a player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball, in addition to during a throw-in).

*Sigh*...this has been a long morning already.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1