The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 127
Guys
This subject has to do with saving a loose ball.
It was meant for the player who tries to grab
(secure) the ball after a rebound or an errant pass.
It was not meant for discussion of a player
who lost his dribble (control).
I hope this defines the subject more clearly.
And BTW you can start a dribble with a tap.
__________________
Barry "the ref" Alman
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,175
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
bktballref-here is abetter description. a player is dribbling, while not touching the ball he steps on the oob. steps back in and resumes dribbling. violation, right?
IF the player is dribbling, it's a violation as soon as s/he touches oob -- stepping back in and continuing to dribble has nothing to do with it.

Quote:
when saving from oob. and the player controls the ball(drops, tosses, throws) it is the start of a dribble. therefor he cannot be the first to touch the ball. you have to put a couple of rules together to get the out come.
IF you want to judge the player's actions to be the start of a dribble, then you have to call the violation as soon as the player touches OOB. Personally, I wouldn't call it the start of a dribble except in some pretty specific cases.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
if a player is dribbling, and while not touching the ball it is not a violation untill he touches the ball again. it is not automatically a violation as soon as he touches the boundary line.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
boss ref,
securing the ball and then dropping throwing or whatnot is the start of a dribble. i understand what you are saying. this is a different varition of the rule, but with the same facts
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
if a player is dribbling, and while not touching the ball it is not a violation untill he touches the ball again. it is not automatically a violation as soon as he touches the boundary line.
I'm not exactly sure what you're saying here, but it sounds like your saying the following:
Quote:
A1 is dribbling the ball. A1 steps on the OOB boundary line, while A1's hand is NOT in contact with the ball. This is not a violation.
IF that's what you're saying, crew, then you're wrong. A player dribbling the ball has player control even when he's not touching the ball during the dribble. Therefore, as soon as he steps on the OOB line, you have a player in control of the ball while OOB. Violation.

This is specifically stated in 9-3 NOTE. Gotta do a little more studying, there, crew.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 08, 2001, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
chuck,
what if the player is dribbling the ball, while hand is not in contact with the ball steps oob. and lets the ball just keep bouncing? it is not a violation. it is a violation when he touches the ball after stepping oob.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 08, 2001, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
chuck,
what if the player is dribbling the ball, while hand is not in contact with the ball steps oob. and lets the ball just keep bouncing? it is not a violation. it is a violation when he touches the ball after stepping oob.
9-3
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 08, 2001, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
chuck,
what if the player is dribbling the ball, while hand is not in contact with the ball steps oob. and lets the ball just keep bouncing? it is not a violation. it is a violation when he touches the ball after stepping oob.
A dribble doesn't end just because it touches the floor several times between hits of the hand.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 90
Crew, it all depends on player control. If the player taps the ball in a non-control manner to save the ball from going out of bounds and comes back in and grabs it this is legal. If the player catches the ball and saves it or saves it with a controlled tap which is similar to starting a dribble and then goes out of bounds and comes back in and grabs it this is illegal. (Read BR 94 A.R. 1 Ruling 1st two sentences)
__________________
eli roe
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. A player has control of the ball when he holds it or dribbles it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Tony - try this then. A player makes a one handed catch (happens in the NFL almost every Sunday), then throws the ball back onto the court without ever holding the ball with two hands. Call it a controlled tap or a one-handed hold and toss, it's clearly different than batting the ball back to the court. Now the ref must decide whether or not the player had control. But there are times that I would argue players establish clear control with only one hand on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
There's nothing that says he has to hold the ball with two hands to have control. If he catches the ball, he's holding it, no matter how briefly. Most people think a "controlled tap" is when the ball is obviously tapped to a certain area or player. But there's no such animal as a controlled tap. We only confuse the issue when we use such a term. He either caught the ball or he didn't. It's that simple.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
coach,
i agree a player can have control with one hand.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
tony
I believe that (capital T) Tony also agrees with this concept - his clear objection is to use of imprecise terms to describe this situation. Control is established by catching/holding, and that can be accomplished with one or two hands. A tap is not a catch, and thus the controlled tap is an imprecise term. You either catch and throw (with one or two hands) or you tap. Nothing in between to confuse matters. Makes snse to me.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
ok, maybe the word "tap" is not the correct terminology. but the key to this play is control. no control=legal, control=illegal.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1