View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2001, 12:16pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
bktballref-here is abetter description. a player is dribbling, while not touching the ball he steps on the oob. steps back in and resumes dribbling. violation, right?
IF the player is dribbling, it's a violation as soon as s/he touches oob -- stepping back in and continuing to dribble has nothing to do with it.

Quote:
when saving from oob. and the player controls the ball(drops, tosses, throws) it is the start of a dribble. therefor he cannot be the first to touch the ball. you have to put a couple of rules together to get the out come.
IF you want to judge the player's actions to be the start of a dribble, then you have to call the violation as soon as the player touches OOB. Personally, I wouldn't call it the start of a dribble except in some pretty specific cases.
Reply With Quote