The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 58
Free throws for intentional foul

Player A is intentionally fouled on a lay up and the shot is good.

Count the basket. Does shooter now get one shot with players in their positions on the lane, and then two more with players behind 3-pt line? Can't find in the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Henry
Player A is intentionally fouled on a lay up and the shot is good.

Count the basket. Does shooter now get one shot with players in their positions on the lane, and then two more with players behind 3-pt line? Can't find in the rule book.
Look in the penalty summary section at the end of the rulebook.

The shooter should recieve 2 shots, then his team gets the ball for a throw-in. Only time you shoot 3 FT's on an intentional foul is if the shot is missed during a 3-pt attempt.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Henry
Player A is intentionally fouled on a lay up and the shot is good.

Count the basket. Does shooter now get one shot with players in their positions on the lane, and then two more with players behind 3-pt line? Can't find in the rule book.
An Intentional Personal foul is always 2 shots, except on a missed three-point attempt when it's three shots.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:40am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,871
Also ...

From Jim Henry: "Players behind 3-pt line"

Also, the nine nonshooters must be behind the foul line extended.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSN
Posts: 224
Intentional foul on a 3pt attempt that is successful is also 2 shots and the ball, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 10:58am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,871
Possible Eight Point Play

From MadCityRef: "Intentional foul on a 3pt attempt that is successful is also 2 shots and the ball, correct?"

Correct. This could lead to an eight point play. The three point field goal is good, the player makes two free throws, the team inbounds the ball, and makes another three point field goal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCityRef
Intentional foul on a 3pt attempt that is successful is also 2 shots and the ball, correct?
That is correct.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I'm almost 100% certain this isn't true for fiba (perhaps italy can correct me if I'm wrong). I'm quite sure an unsportsmanlike foul followed by counted points is just one FT (and a throw in from opposite the table).
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
I'm almost 100% certain this isn't true for fiba (perhaps italy can correct me if I'm wrong). I'm quite sure an unsportsmanlike foul followed by counted points is just one FT (and a throw in from opposite the table).
You are correct regarding FIBA rules.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 01:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Henry
Does shooter now get one shot with players in their positions on the lane, and then two more with players behind 3-pt line? Can't find in the rule book.
Others have addressed the number of shots, but I wanted to point something out. You will never line the players up on the free throw lane unless the rebound will be live following the last of the attempted free throws.

IOW, there is no scenario where you'll shoot one (or more) free throw(s) with players lined up and then pull them off the lane for any remaining shots.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Others have addressed the number of shots, but I wanted to point something out. You will never line the players up on the free throw lane unless the rebound will be live following the last of the attempted free throws.

IOW, there is no scenario where you'll shoot one (or more) free throw(s) with players lined up and then pull them off the lane for any remaining shots.
How about a T before the final shot... then clear everyone off the lane, shoot the final shot and proceed with the T shots.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 02:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Allow me to rephrase, you will never shoot free throws with players lined up knowing you're going to pull them off the lane for any remaining free throws.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Back to the original question. An easy way to think of it is this: The shot has its own merit. So if there is an intentional foul on a made 3-pointer, count the 3, give them two shots (and ball at spot) for intentional foul. If shot not made, give them three shots (for a 3-point attempt) and ball at spot. Either way, no player along lane, as ball will be inbounded at spot of intentional foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most free throws? Rock Chalk Basketball 31 Sat Mar 10, 2007 09:59am
foul out and free throws with a T reffish Basketball 104 Sat Sep 16, 2006 08:21am
Number of Free Throws on Intentional Foul? ReadyToRef Basketball 12 Mon Sep 06, 2004 09:53am
Shot Technical foul free throws at wrong basket. Jerry Blum Basketball 3 Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1