The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
Is it safe to say that the general rule in this situation is, if the throw-in following the foul is still going to be on the endline, then the team throwing in retains the right to run the endline? The wording on the case play says "B1 fouls A2 inbounds near A1." So what if A1 is on the endline near the sideline on the side where the table is, and B1 fouls AD near the endline where it intersects with the other sideline, opposite the table. The calling official says that the ensuing throw in will be on the endline. Do they still get to run?
Yes, that is safe to say. The implication is that by being "near" A1, the foul occurred closest to the endline. It's not precisely worded but that is what it means.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bag the OOB Spot? ljudge Football 15 Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:10pm
Basic Spot dumbref Football 24 Mon Sep 11, 2006 02:14am
spot? jr Basketball 1 Tue Nov 22, 2005 03:02am
OOB spot........ zebra44 Basketball 4 Sat Mar 12, 2005 08:43am
Free kick line behind the goal line starman Football 9 Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1