The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 13, 2001, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: Oz Referee... Just had to add this

Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee


Foot ON the line is a violation under FIBA rules. All lines are considered to be of zero thickness, and in practical terms are considered to be part of the area opposite to the one that the ball/player is in.

In other words, if a player is inbounding - then the line is part of the playing area, and therefor cannot be touched on a throwin.
Duane, you're correct. When you say that a player has a foot on the line, most of these guys think the the line is 2" or more in width. They don't understand that when you say line is the edge that separates inbounds and OOB. If a player is touching the actual boundary line with his foot, he's inbounds as well as OOB. It is a violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1