The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 05:58pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I understand your point, but as long as the NFHS rules have the following casebook play, your opinion is going to be secondary to the correct application of the rules. The first thing that officials have to do is follow the rules.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
So where would the ball go if the shot didn't go in? AP! Like I said.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
So where would the ball go if the shot didn't go in? AP! Like I said.
No, you believe that it is AP even if the try had not yet been released.

*4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Alternate Question #27 rwest Softball 7 Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:08am
Alternate Possession ltllng Basketball 1 Wed Feb 07, 2007 02:22pm
Alternate official for NBA post-season games Dribble Basketball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:17am
alternate possession bossref Basketball 13 Sun Jul 11, 2004 08:20pm
Alternate possession? idealcut Basketball 2 Wed Jul 31, 2002 05:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1