The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
RushmoreRef, thanks for submitting my 4 questions to your state association and to Mary Struckoff at the NFHS.
I am still having a problem with her rules interpolation to Question 4.

(4) Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court
(Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying
direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the
ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in
the backcourt.

In this case play, the player jumps from the backcourt, secures control in the air, lands FC then BC. 9-9-3 states that for the exception, the player has to jump from the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
RushmoreRef, thanks for submitting my 4 questions to your state association and to Mary Struckoff at the NFHS.
I am still having a problem with her rules interpolation to Question 4.

(4) Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court
(Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying
direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the
ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in
the backcourt.

In this case play, the player jumps from the backcourt, secures control in the air, lands FC then BC. 9-9-3 states that for the exception, the player has to jump from the FC.

I see what you mean.....hopefully a clafication will come with that....I'm thinking that she is stating that any time there is no team control, a normal landing is permitted and don't know if she didn't see that the jump came from the BC or if she is saying it doesn't matter.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 03:27pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary Struckoff
Answer: No violation, play on. The provision in 9-9-3 permits the play. Team control is established when A2 gains possession and lands in the backcourt.
This statement alone should disqualify her from giving "definitive" rulings.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 05:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
This statement alone should disqualify her from giving "definitive" rulings.
It ain't the first one that she's screwed up. She needs to stick to editing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It ain't the first one that she's screwed up. She needs to stick to editing.
I'm lost....anyway..think she made it clear that there is some room for interpretation with this rule and that they would look at it in committee, which is what all of us would like to have happen.

What I deduced from the email is this...a tip doesn't end the provisions of 9.9.3....what we still need to know is does this apply to a defender that jumps from the backcourt to frontcourt (doesn't say that in the rule) and is the parenthesis situations all inclusive or just examples.

Am I correct in this or are there other questions?...I'd like to know before I send my final email back to the association and eventually they will send it to her.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
Those are pretty much the three points that need addressing due to the current wording of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
what we still need to know is does this apply to a defender that jumps from the backcourt to frontcourt (doesn't say that in the rule)
???

A defender jumping from the BC to the FC is always legal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
???

A defender jumping from the BC to the FC is always legal.
Bob, go take a look at play #4 above. The defender jumped from his backcourt, caught the ball with both feet in the air, and landed first foot down in his frontcourt and then the second foot down in his backcourt.

Do you say that is legal?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt-Frontcourt Clarification MtnGoatinStripes Basketball 3 Thu Dec 11, 2003 06:31am
frontcourt-backcourt zac Basketball 2 Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:36pm
frontcourt/backcourt chasbo Basketball 14 Thu Oct 30, 2003 08:56am
Frontcourt/Backcourt RookieDude Basketball 1 Fri Jan 31, 2003 08:11am
Frontcourt or backcourt PP Basketball 9 Mon Oct 29, 2001 11:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1