![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
IMO, what she was saying about #3 and #4 is that anytime a ball is secured while in the air, the "normal landing" provision takes precedence and they are allowed to land in that way.... She mentioned talking with the committee and adding them to the casebook plays for next season. You can bet when I get mine that I will be opening it directly to 9.9.3 and checking. I'll look into sending the explanations the two of you had in your thread.....let you know if I hear anything from that.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? |
|
|||
RushmoreRef, thanks for submitting my 4 questions to your state association and to Mary Struckoff at the NFHS.
I am still having a problem with her rules interpolation to Question 4. (4) Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court (Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt. In this case play, the player jumps from the backcourt, secures control in the air, lands FC then BC. 9-9-3 states that for the exception, the player has to jump from the FC. |
|
|||
Quote:
I see what you mean.....hopefully a clafication will come with that....I'm thinking that she is stating that any time there is no team control, a normal landing is permitted and don't know if she didn't see that the jump came from the BC or if she is saying it doesn't matter.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
What I deduced from the email is this...a tip doesn't end the provisions of 9.9.3....what we still need to know is does this apply to a defender that jumps from the backcourt to frontcourt (doesn't say that in the rule) and is the parenthesis situations all inclusive or just examples. Am I correct in this or are there other questions?...I'd like to know before I send my final email back to the association and eventually they will send it to her.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? |
|
|||
Quote:
A defender jumping from the BC to the FC is always legal. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt-Frontcourt Clarification | MtnGoatinStripes | Basketball | 3 | Thu Dec 11, 2003 06:31am |
frontcourt-backcourt | zac | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:36pm |
frontcourt/backcourt | chasbo | Basketball | 14 | Thu Oct 30, 2003 08:56am |
Frontcourt/Backcourt | RookieDude | Basketball | 1 | Fri Jan 31, 2003 08:11am |
Frontcourt or backcourt | PP | Basketball | 9 | Mon Oct 29, 2001 11:21am |