The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2007, 07:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
NCAA rule 2-5-1(f) says that the proper procedure is to make "A determination, based on the judgment of the official, that a timing mistake has occurred in either stopping or staring the clock".

The referee, Karl Hess, did exactly that. He's quoted in the NY Post this morning as saying "When you look at the monitor, the Memphis kid catches the ball, the ball hits the court and then went out of bounds. I put a stopwatch on it and comes out to 1.1 seconds."

That's exactly what has been said in this thread umpty-ump times to date. It's that simple. The R timed the interval from when the clock should have started, by rule, until the clock should have stopped, also by rule. The clock is supposed to start and the ball becomes live when the ball is legally touched or is touched by a player in-bounds on a throw-in. The clock is supposed to stop when a live ball then touches something out of bounds.

If somebody doesn't want to believe that, so be it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1