![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The ball was legally inbounded at 3.2 seconds. It touched a player B1 and then hit the court (that means it was still inbounds). The clock did not start. The ball then bounced high in the air and finally went OOB. No time came off the clock (that means 3.2 seconds still showed on the clock). NCAA rules allow the officials to use a monitor to fix timing errors. They used the monitor (and a stop watch I understand) to determine 1.1 seconds elapsed between the time the ball touched B1 and the time it went OOB. Hopefully this clears it up for you and you can rest easy knowing that your team wasn't screwed.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I have no dog in the hunt. We have your take on the call. I asked for a rule book explanation. Is there one? Can you cite it? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Not testy at all. I don't care about your dogs or what they hunt.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Or do you think that he'd really lie to you? Now shoo, fanboy, shoo..... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
I do not disagree that the ball hit in bounds and it took 1.1 seconds for it to hit something out of bounds.
What I don't understand is why the whistle is irrelevant. The trail, I can only assume, thought the ball was out of bounds, thus he blew his whistle. What am I missing that allows the other two officials to disregard the whistle (i.e. change the call based on the monitor)? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
What is your arguement now???? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the clock had started running correctly, it would have stopped when the official blew his whistle. |
|
|||
|
Section 5. Officials Use of Replay/Television Equipment
Art. 1. Officials may use official courtside replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring that is located on a designated courtside table (i.e., within approximately 3 to 12 feet of the playing court), when such equipment is available only in situations as follows: f. A determination, based on the judgment of the official, that a timing mistake has occurred in either starting or stopping the game clock. After the ball is in play, such a mistake shall be corrected during the first dead ball or during the next live ball but before the ball is touched inbounds or out of bounds by a player. When the clock should have been continuously running, the mistake shall be corrected before the second live ball is touched inbounds or out of bounds by a player. The ball became dead on the whistle (IW or OOB, i don't care why he blew it). Therefore, this is when the mistake should have been corrected. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|