The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I had no problem with the correction.
Except for the fact that the ball was whistled dead and the T was signaling A&M ball well before the ball actually hit OOBs - how do you ignore the signal and the whistle? I agree that the ball could have stayed in the air a full second.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
jkjenning makes an intersting point in regard to what type of error is this? Is it a timing mistake or an officials mistake in calling the ball OOB immediately. The only way they can use the monitor to correct this is if it is a timing mistake, but the more I replay it mentally, I think this is an official's mistake.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
jkjenning makes an intersting point in regard to what type of error is this? Is it a timing mistake or an officials mistake in calling the ball OOB immediately. The only way they can use the monitor to correct this is if it is a timing mistake, but the more I replay it mentally, I think this is an official's mistake.
Howinthehell can it be an official's mistake if the timer never started the clock?

The clock should have started on the legal touching in-bounds by the Memphis player. It didn't. The officials corrected the timer's mistake. Period!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howinthehell can it be an official's mistake if the timer never started the clock?

The clock should have started on the legal touching in-bounds by the Memphis player. It didn't. The officials corrected the timer's mistake. Period!
It can't.

I figured they would take at least .7 seconds off when I first saw the play (said that on the chat room). It didn't surprise me at all when they ended up taking 1.1 seconds off. Great call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I want to be clear, I don't have a problem with the outcome. As an OU fan I certainly wasn't wanting A&M to win. I just think there were a number of errors made on this play. In suggesting that it was an officials error, I was refering to the fact that as jkjenning pointed out, the T clearly signaled the ball OOB immediately after it hit the court. That is an officials error because the ball was not OOB at that point. Are we certain the clock didn't start? Considering that the NCAA uses precision timing, if the whistle was blown close enough to the starting of the clock it is possible that .05 seconds may have elapsed without the clock showing a change. I'm not one of those people that want to throw the official under the bus because of a late mistake that "cost the game". I've been the guy that got thrown under the bus for a late game snafu, by a fellow official working the game nonetheless (after reviewing the film, he apologized his rear-end off as I was right), so I certainly don't want to be the guy doing the throwing. I'm just saying that there are so many factors to be considered. Ultimately I don't think 1.1 seconds is too far from what was right had everything and everyone seen it perfectly. Unfortunately that isn't what happened so we must defer to the rules and how they say to handle the situation.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
Considering that the NCAA uses precision timing, if the whistle was blown close enough to the starting of the clock it is possible that .05 seconds may have elapsed without the clock showing a change.
They do not use the PT system during the tournament.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzle
They do not use the PT system during the tournament.
I realize that I'm starting to get outlandish, but I'm trying to foster discussion (kinda devil's advocate kinda thing), but the timer could still have started and stopped the clock so quickly that no time change was shown. I've seen it done on clocks that show tenths of a second. I'm just saying.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzle
They do not use the PT system during the tournament.
Is everyone ignoring this comment? They do use the PT system. The C is supposed to start the clock and obviously didn't. Now that brings us back to the question of is this a timing error or an official's error?
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
In suggesting that it was an officials error, I was refering to the fact that as jkjenning pointed out, the T clearly signaled the ball OOB immediately after it hit the court.
There's where we disagree. I thought that the T was pointing at the Memphis player to denote that the ball was last touched in-bounds by him. That's the mechanic that they were using the whole game. Point at the player that last touched the ball in-bounds and then give a direction signal.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There's where we disagree. I thought that the T was pointing at the Memphis player to denote that the ball was last touched in-bounds by him. That's the mechanic that they were using the whole game. Point at the player that last touched the ball in-bounds and then give a direction signal.
Except that he blew his whistle before the ball hit OB.

Again, I think they got it right in the end.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howinthehell can it be an official's mistake if the timer never started the clock?

The clock should have started on the legal touching in-bounds by the Memphis player. It didn't. The officials corrected the timer's mistake. Period!
So in correcting the timer's mistake, do the officials take the amount of time off the clock from the legal touching in-bounds to the whistle, or to the touching out of bounds, which was two different times and obviously an official's error.

Last edited by Kajun Ref N Texas; Thu Mar 22, 2007 at 09:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
So in correcting the timer's mistake, do the officials take the amount of time off the clock from the legal touching in-bounds to the whistle, or to the touching out of bounds, which was two different times?
The whistle is not really relevant because the clock never started. A whistle is supposed to stop the clock, but whistles can be late also. You can't stop something that was never going in the first place.

The amount of time used, by rule, is the time lapsed from the ball being legally touched in-bounds by the Memphis player until the ball then touches something-anything-out of bounds. To try and get an accurate reading, they put the stopwatch on it-- clicked it on at the Memphis touch and then clicked it off when it touched something out of bounds. They probably did that several times to make sure that 1.1 seconds was a good, representative time. That's probably the only way that they can come up with a fairly accurate time. That's my take on it anyway.

Good job by the officials imo.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The whistle is not really relevant because the clock never started. A whistle is supposed to stop the clock, but whistles can be late also. You can't stop something that was never going in the first place.

The amount of time used, by rule, is the time lapsed from the ball being legally touched in-bounds by the Memphis player until the ball then touches something-anything-out of bounds. To try and get an accurate reading, they put the stopwatch on it-- clicked it on at the Memphis touch and then clicked it off when it touched something out of bounds. They probably did that several times to make sure that 1.1 seconds was a good, representative time. That's probably the only way that they can come up with a fairly accurate time. That's my take on it anyway.

Good job by the officials imo.
I agree with the outcome. It seemed to me to be about a second between the legal touching inbounds and the touching OB.

With the early whistle, it could be construed that the T thought the ball went OB on the bounce inbounds thereby changing the timing issue.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:29pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjenning
Except for the fact that the ball was whistled dead and the T was signaling A&M ball well before the ball actually hit OOBs - how do you ignore the signal and the whistle? I agree that the ball could have stayed in the air a full second.
First of all I did not ignore anything. The ball hit in bounds and flew in the air. That took some time and a second is not unreasonable in my opinion. You can disagree, but that does not mean you are right.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
First of all I did not ignore anything.
You were not the "you" in my statement
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1