The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32953-backcourt.html)

socalreff Thu Mar 22, 2007 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Mary Struckhoff knows the rules about as well as Billy Packer.:rolleyes:

Are you serious or joking?

RushmoreRef Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff
Are you serious or joking?


I don't doubt that...

Camron Rust Thu Mar 22, 2007 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff
Are you serious or joking?

With some of the interpretations that have come from here, it does make you wonder!

Zoochy Thu Mar 22, 2007 02:15pm

We all seem to agree that the exception for back court needs to be clarified. The one thing that is a given in the Rule 9-9-3 (Back Court Exception). The player has to jump from Front Court and catch the ball in the air. Mark Dexter made the statement, “Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.” This is incorrect. It does matter where the player takes off from. IT must be from the Front Court.

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 22, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Mark Dexter made the statement, “Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.” This is incorrect. It does matter where the player takes off from. IT must be from the Front Court.

So if the player jumps from his backcourt and lands in his backcourt, it's a violation?!?! :D

socalreff Thu Mar 22, 2007 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
So if the player jumps from his backcourt and lands in his backcourt, it's a violation?!?! :D

LOL:D :) :)

Mark Dexter Thu Mar 22, 2007 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
We all seem to agree that the exception for back court needs to be clarified. The one thing that is a given in the Rule 9-9-3 (Back Court Exception). The player has to jump from Front Court and catch the ball in the air. Mark Dexter made the statement, “Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.” This is incorrect. It does matter where the player takes off from. IT must be from the Front Court.

While it's true that the exception only applies to jumping from FC to BC, scrapper is correct in that jumping from BC and landing in the BC would not be a violation.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 22, 2007 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
We all seem to agree that the exception for back court needs to be clarified. The one thing that is a given in the Rule 9-9-3 (Back Court Exception). The player has to jump from Front Court and catch the ball in the air. Mark Dexter made the statement, “Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.” This is incorrect. It does matter where the player takes off from. IT must be from the Front Court.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
While it's true that the exception only applies to jumping from FC to BC, scrapper is correct in that jumping from BC and landing in the BC would not be a violation.

There was a play in the other thread that I cited about this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
(4) Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My ruling is that this is a backcourt violation. It is probably splitting hairs, but that's my call. Why? Since B2 jumped from his BACKCOURT rule 9-9-3 does not apply to him as that rule specifies a player jumping from his FRONTCOURT. Likewise, since the player is holding the ball, not dribbling it, 4-4-6 (what we call the three points rule) doesn't apply either. Rules 4-35 and 4-4-2 appear to be controlling. When B2 catches the ball both player and team control are established. Since B2 jumped from his backcourt both he and the ball have backcourt status at this time. When the first foot touches in the frontcourt and the second foot has yet to touch the floor the player has frontcourt status per 4-35-1b and 4-35-2 and thus the ball has frontcourt status per 4-4-2. When the second foot lands in the backcourt, the player and the ball both gain backcourt status per the same rules. Thus a backcourt violation has occurred per 9-9-1.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
VIOLATION. No rule allows this.


Dan_ref Thu Mar 22, 2007 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So your position is that defense doesn't exist unless there is team control by one team...
Well I can demonstrate using what is written in the rules book that your "common sense" isn't correct.

There are two statements in the Fundamentals which mention defense. In the first, there is no team control because the try has been released, which we know ends team control. However, the continuous motion interval is the topic of the second, which we know occurs while the player is still holding the ball and thus has team control.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals

7. The only infractions for which points are awarded are goaltending by the defense or basket interference at the opponent's basket.

I don't want to get in the middle of your pissing match Emperor but you cannot have goaltending during a throw-in. No such thing exists.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 22, 2007 04:41pm

This argument requires logic and critical thinking skills, Dan. I'll find a first first-grader with a crayon to connect the dots for you, if you are having trouble following the points.

Dan_ref Thu Mar 22, 2007 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This argument requires logic and critical thinking skills, Dan. I'll find a first first-grader with a crayon to connect the dots for you, if you are having trouble following the points.


I've already found one but sadly you're not doing a very good job.

Mark Dexter Thu Mar 22, 2007 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
There was a play in the other thread that I cited about this.

In that case, my answer is that he landed in the frontcourt. :p

M&M Guy Thu Mar 22, 2007 05:08pm

http://www.buzzle.com/img/articleImages/36128-34.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1