![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The NFHS has 10-3-5: "A player shall not: . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage." However, the NCAA rule does not mention the ring. It only says backboard. 10-3-16 "Placing a hand(s) on the backboard to gain an advantage." The rules that cover the ring say nothing about doing so to gain an advantage. 10-3-13"Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials’ jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to himself, herself or others."10-3-15 "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing either the backboard or ring to vibrate while the ball is in flight during a try, or while the ball is touching the backboard, is on the basket ring, in the basket net or the cylinder." My interpretation of this play is that the player was okay initially because I deemed him to be grasping the ring to prevent an injury, but once that dangerous situation passed, he was now grasping the ring not to prevent an injury, but in order to aide his making a defensive play. Thus it is a matter of the timing. I believe that 10-3-13 needs to be applied twice during this play. The first time seems to be legal, but the second time that the player's actions are judged, they are worthy of a technical foul. Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Mar 21, 2007 at 05:47pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Calling Memphis, Tenn. Area Officials | garote | Basketball | 0 | Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:10am |
Virginia Tech/Virginia | refTN | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am |
MSU vs. TEnn | IREFU2 | Basketball | 10 | Mon Apr 04, 2005 09:45am |
Georgia-Tenn. (Women's NCAA) | Jay R | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 31, 2005 09:03pm |
Question about O-O-B call in Tenn-Stanford game | Jimgolf | Basketball | 9 | Fri Apr 02, 2004 02:08pm |