The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I only watched it once, but it looked to me like there was an offensive player directly beneath him.
Again, why is he grasped the rim to begin with? There's no shot, he just jumps up and grabs the rim. That's a T, period. If he doesn't grasp the rim, there's no reason to hang on to prevent injury.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:52am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Again, why is he grasped the rim to begin with?
Um, because there's an offensive player directly below him? He goes up to block the shot, but the shooter fakes. I agree with Camron. The T is certainly justified when he tries to make a play on the ball while holding the rim. But just for grasping, I would not give the T for that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Um, because there's an offensive player directly below him? He goes up to block the shot, but the shooter fakes. I agree with Camron. The T is certainly justified when he tries to make a play on the ball while holding the rim. But just for grasping, I would not give the T for that.
I agree. 147%.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Assume for argument's sake that, by rule, we should have had a technical called once he made the play on the ball while still grasping the rim. Is it possible that the officials here were under the same mindset as the Oden non-intentional? i.e., let the players decide the game?

For the record, I'm not advocating this position, just merely throwing it out there to try to get a better understanding....
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
Is it possible that the officials here were under the same mindset as the Oden non-intentional? i.e., let the players decide the game?
A player commits an intentional foul or a technical foul... that means the player made his/her contribution towards deciding the game - to not assess the foul means you are preventing the player from "deciding the game", imo.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:02pm
biz biz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 221
Here's what I'm thinking about doing...Not sure there is any backing in the book and I probably wouldn't have done this but it might spark some discussion.

I think that the grasping of the rim in this case calls for a T, but I would want to hold the whistle to allow the offensive player to complete what looks like it could be an easy basket. The calling official signals a personal foul on Cain on the "block" attempt I would call the personal as well as the T. Since the T happened first Tennesse would shoot two with the lane cleared and then shoot the personals with the lane spaces occupied and the game would continue.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by biz
Here's what I'm thinking about doing...Not sure there is any backing in the book and I probably wouldn't have done this but it might spark some discussion.

I think that the grasping of the rim in this case calls for a T, but I would want to hold the whistle to allow the offensive player to complete what looks like it could be an easy basket. The calling official signals a personal foul on Cain on the "block" attempt I would call the personal as well as the T. Since the T happened first Tennesse would shoot two with the lane cleared and then shoot the personals with the lane spaces occupied and the game would continue.
I don't think you can get away with two separate fouls here. I think it's gotta be one or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by biz
Here's what I'm thinking about doing...Not sure there is any backing in the book and I probably wouldn't have done this but it might spark some discussion.

I think that the grasping of the rim in this case calls for a T, but I would want to hold the whistle to allow the offensive player to complete what looks like it could be an easy basket. The calling official signals a personal foul on Cain on the "block" attempt I would call the personal as well as the T. Since the T happened first Tennesse would shoot two with the lane cleared and then shoot the personals with the lane spaces occupied and the game would continue.
Doesn't this go back to NC's play with the delayed technical? I'd rule differently in this situation, though. If you call a technical for hanging on the rim, then the contact would have to be either nothing or an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 01:09pm
biz biz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Doesn't this go back to NC's play with the delayed technical? I'd rule differently in this situation, though. If you call a technical for hanging on the rim, then the contact would have to be either nothing or an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact.
I haven't seen NC's play. What's the thread title?

If you delay the whistle on the T for grasping the rim then the ball is not dead and you don't have to call the intentional T for dead ball contact.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by biz
I haven't seen NC's play. What's the thread title?

If you delay the whistle on the T for grasping the rim then the ball is not dead and you don't have to call the intentional T for dead ball contact.
"False Double Foul with Held Whistle"
False Double Foul with Held Whistle
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 02:57pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Doesn't this go back to NC's play with the delayed technical? I'd rule differently in this situation, though. If you call a technical for hanging on the rim, then the contact would have to be either nothing or an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact.
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yeah - not sure what I was thinking. It basically is the same thing, and I would call both the same - personal foul on the player who earned the personal foul and a technical on the guy hanging on the rim. I definately overcomplicated it.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 03:51pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Actually, here's a case where the rulebook could get you in some trouble. Technically, the player should been ejected. If we are going to call it by the letter of the law, we got a technical foul for grabbing the rim, automatic dead ball, then we have another technical foul for contact on a dead ball after the fact. Or you can say, the player held on or used the rim as an advantage to play defense. That's two technicals, players ejected.

I guess you could reason that contact after the ball is dead is to be ignored unless it's flagrant or intentional. Another example of why you have the referee's judgment to go along with the rule. The correct call is one technical and the ball is dead. New 35 second shot clock after the 2 free throws.

BTW, what was the call here?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Um, because there's an offensive player directly below him? He goes up to block the shot, but the shooter fakes. I agree with Camron. The T is certainly justified when he tries to make a play on the ball while holding the rim. But just for grasping, I would not give the T for that.
Sorry but I disagree. You're seeing a little snippet here. I was watching the game. He grabbed the rim for no good reason. Once there, then he hung on. you can make a case for injury after the initial grab but the fact is there was no reason to grab the rim intially.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 02:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Sorry but I disagree. You're seeing a little snippet here. I was watching the game. He grabbed the rim for no good reason. Once there, then he hung on. you can make a case for injury after the initial grab but the fact is there was no reason to grab the rim intially.
(I was watching the game too)

While from your view, it may have been clear that there was no one immediately there or that his momentum would have carried him safely away, can you say that he knew that? Is it possible that with all the bodies converging towards the bucket, he felt there was someone there? Or that the ref felt there were others sufficiently close to justify no T?

I simply didn't think it was "obvious". Possible, yes. But not "obvious'.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling Memphis, Tenn. Area Officials garote Basketball 0 Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:10am
Virginia Tech/Virginia refTN Basketball 13 Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am
MSU vs. TEnn IREFU2 Basketball 10 Mon Apr 04, 2005 09:45am
Georgia-Tenn. (Women's NCAA) Jay R Basketball 3 Mon Jan 31, 2005 09:03pm
Question about O-O-B call in Tenn-Stanford game Jimgolf Basketball 9 Fri Apr 02, 2004 02:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1