![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Oh, we got another good one here. Because of distance, I will probably have to rule offensive. However, form the video, I can not tell viewing it two times if the player was not airborne before the defender is set. Another point is the offense doesn't get an advantage here, imo, because the defense is there in front of him all the way up the court. You don't reward bad decision from the players. IOW, he could have just stopped and shot a jump shot. In the other video, the defensive player was not there and at the last second, ran underneath the shooter to try and draw the charge. This one is clear and easier to call because of distance. Advantage defense.
|
Quote:
To me this is more of a chance that I would call "block" on this one than the previous one....Maybe because it's in a fast-break situation or because it seems to me (without the benefit of slow-mo) that the defense sticks out his chest toward the defender and the more I watch it, appear to flop early....I know either of those don't matter, but both tend to lean me toward blocks at game speed. Don't "fly-off-the-handle" if you don't agree, because I still think it is a "charge", it just doesn't jump out at me like the first video. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Old School: Repeat after me: 1) There is no such thing as an offensive foul in NFHS and NCAA rules. 2) Time and distance does not apply to a defender obtaining/establishing a legal guarding position against an offensive player in control of the ball and the offensive player is not airborne at the time the defender obtains/establishes his legal guarding position. In fact I want you to write it 500 times and have it on my desk by tomorrow morning. MTD, Sr. P.S. Everybody read OS's last paragraph, now he is changing his decision on why he would have called a block in the first thread. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
What I meant by the "lucky" is that he got the call correct even though he wasn't looking thru the players (which would have been the best angle, which is the angle we get from the video)...but instead was looking at the back of the defensive player...I agree that he could still see whether or not the defensive player had established LGP. My point is, from where he was at, the only thing he could have had was a charge.... Now another point....should that have been the C's call...it's in his primary or since it was transition, should the L take it like he did b/c the C is so far upcourt. |
Quote:
I'm willing to give you the "luck" on getting that good angle, though. It's hard to tell whetehr he chose it or just had an angle-angel smiling on him. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I don't know if wider would be a requirement, but having some either back or front on the defender would give the necessary view to determine whether said defender got LGP. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am. |