![]() |
Quote:
I too, officiate in Washington state, and the reason I made the comments I did was because that is how our association handles 'drives to the basket', from either wing. It was a point of emphasis in every pre-game of every varsity contest I did this year. L to have a patient whistle on a crash from a drive from either wing, C or T having first crack due to play originating from their primary. I never said that L should not have a whistle on such a play. I was just asking RD if their crew was applying that same philosophy or not. Thanks for YOUR concern though, tomegun. ;) |
I got....
A player control foul in the first video. A no call in the second. And no comment on Old School's posts................ Good job, Rookie. |
Quote:
Seriously, I got another philosophy on this call for all of you. At a recent camp, I was told that as the Lead, you don't watch the feet. As the Lead, you have from the waste up. Now, if you are the Lead making this call, and you are basing your decision on the fact that the defender got his feet down and set before the offensive players feet left the floor, you are watching the wrong thing. Plus, in order to make that determination at that precise time at real time speed is at best a guess. Judging that you are making that decision from the players feet. Now if you are watching the play from the waste up and judging this, you will see that the offensive player has a open path to the bucket, at the last minute a defender moves in. From real time speed, you can't undercut the player once he's started his shooting motion. So I'm saying that if the call comes from the Lead who watching from the waste up, the only possible call you can have is a defensive block, imho. Now we go back and review the film, the film shows the defender did get there in time and it was in fact PC. In real time, you can't make that call from the Lead and the reason is you don't have enough information, you are guessing at PC. Let's breifly talk a minute about the contact to the torso. There was no contact to the torso. The player got there too late. The contact on the play was from the undercut and the offensive player fell down from this. If I'm watching waste up, there was no contact to the chest. That's what I need to see to rule PC from the L. Easy call, block, 2 shots, game over. Quote:
|
Pre-Game & Consistency
(In referrence to the 1st video)
If they pre-gamed that they were going behind their head all night on anything close - Then they got it right. If they pre-gamed to the hips all night then they got it wrong. If they went to the head on everything else that night, they got it right. If they went to the hips all night, they got it wrong. Personally - I feel that the defender had not established(both feet while facing) and therefore the bucket is good and we are shooting one. However, I reserve the right to reference earlier material posted in this response!! :p |
Old School will be performing two shows nightly all week... at 7 PM and 10 PM. Don't forget to tip your server. Thanks for coming folks.... rim shot......
|
Quote:
Old School: What are you advocating is not "old school." What I am telling you is how the rules committees have wanted it called for at least 50 years, and I have been a boys'/girls' H.S. official for 36 years, women's college for 33 years, and men's college and FIBA for 14 years. What you are advocating is wrong and shows a lack of understanding of the rules and how and why they are written. I feel sorry for you. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Note the red in the above quote is a paraphrase. |
Quote:
|
In reference to the first play posted (end of regulation) had to look at it in slo-mo myself, but I think the charge is right on.
If I'm standing there in real time, though - oy - not sure what I'd call (although L would have had a bit better view than that camera). |
Quote:
PS - your mechanics are wonderfully sharp. I'm impressed. |
Quote:
You can't pick and choose the rules you want - when you are reffing NFHS you use the NFHS rules. Out of curiousity, if you were to ref a FIBA game would you not call the over and back violation on a throw in from the front court just because you don't like it?!? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
first play: d has lgp (doesn't matter if both feet are on the floor according to ncaa rules) great call.
second play: good no call, player flopped nice job under tremendous pressure |
Great video!
I know I'm probably behind most fo the discussion as I decided to post without reading the response of everyone else, and the thread is already 80+ posts. I have a player control foul. Seocnd foot was barely down before it's time restriction for a PC. Not sure if this was posted: 2nd OT dying seconds drive by visitors Anyone have a PC here as well? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am. |