The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
One other thing to note here. You say that it is an out of bounds play under your opponents basket. Are they attempting a throw-in after your team just scored, because if that is the case, the player can run along the entire endline during the throw-in with no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
One other thing to note here. You say that it is an out of bounds play under your opponents basket. Are they attempting a throw-in after your team just scored, because if that is the case, the player can run along the entire endline during the throw-in with no violation.
The opponents were inbounding under the opponent's basket. A team can never (legally) run the endline when it is inbounding under its own basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The opponents were inbounding under the opponent's basket. A team can never (legally) run the endline when it is inbounding under its own basket.
The opponent's basket is the one they are defending. Therefore, you always inbound under your own basket after you give up a score to the other team.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Husker John,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy we were able to help. Best of luck to you in the seasons to come.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
The opponent's basket is the one they are defending. Therefore, you always inbound under your own basket after you give up a score to the other team.
You might want to check out 4-5-1.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Not in NFHS. A team shoots at their own basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
The opponent's basket is the one they are defending. Therefore, you always inbound under your own basket after you give up a score to the other team.
Wrong ace. This ain't football.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
I stand corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 03:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I stand corrected.
Mercilessly so. :0
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Husker John,
Thanks for the positive thoughts. I hope that your team has continued success and that you continue to learn about the game and progress as a coach through this forum. Here is the NFHS rule on the designated-spot:

LEAVING DESIGNATED SPOT
7.6.2 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a designated-spot throw-in. The administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at A1's disposal. In order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, A1 takes several steps directly backward, but keeps one foot on or over the designated area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass. RULING: Legal throw-in. It is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating and he/she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area until the ball is released. The thrower may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. COMMENT: Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in. The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1