The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Conference Tournaments (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32579-conference-tournaments.html)

Nevadaref Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
NV, they're 16-14. Sorry but they have to win to get in.

Didn't A&M have a similar record last year and get in? I'll have to look it up. Speaking of A&M, they went down to OK State 57-56!

...and Baylor is crushing Texas right now!!!

Nevadaref Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:36pm

Great game between Georgetown and Notre Dame today in the Big East semi. Hoyas pull it out 84-82. :)

Nevadaref Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:41pm

Nope, it wasn't A&M, they were 21-8 at the start of the NCAAs.

Now what team from a major conference that was barely .500 was I thinking of...??? I believe that they even won their first round game.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:55pm

It might have been Alabama. They were 17-12 at the start of both the 2004 and 2006 tournaments, and made the Elite Eight in '04 and the second round in '06.

M&M Guy Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:07am

In the IL vs IN game in the Big Ten tournament, there was a big call near the end of regulation. IL down 4; Frasier for IL takes a 3-pt. shot, L comes out with a foul on IN under the basket, ball goes in, L emphatically wipes off shot and is ready to give IL bonus FT's. Officials get together during the TV TO, and after discussion award the 3-pt. shot, saying the shot was in the air at the time of the foul. I agree with the ruling, if that is what happened, but there was some confusion with the announcers (imagine that...) as to whether they could go to the monitor to review if the shot was indeed in the air at the time of the foul. Is this one of the things that can be reviewed by monitor? Or did they just get together as a crew to determine if the shot was in the air? All this occurred during the commercial, so I couldn't see how the officials came to the conclusion.

Last play of regulation, scored tied 50-50, IN misses a shot, IL player gets a long rebound and gets knocked to floor, then the horn goes off. Of course, now the announcers are saying the officials should go the monitor to review if there is a foul. As far as I know, you cannot use the monitor for that purpose, correct?

Nevadaref Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:23am

1) The ball doesn't have to be in flight for continuous motion to apply. The officials could have used the monitor if they wished in this case as this was a correctable error because they erroneously counted or cancelled a score.

2) The officials cannot go to the monitor to determine if a foul occurred. That is a judgment call. But if one of them had called a foul on the play, they could have used the monitor to see if that foul had happened before the expiration of time.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 10, 2007 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Didn't A&M have a similar record last year and get in? I'll have to look it up. Speaking of A&M, they went down to OK State 57-56!

...and Baylor is crushing Texas right now!!!

We can put money on whether NC State gets an at large bid or not, if you like? :)

Nevadaref Sat Mar 10, 2007 05:08am

Texas came all the way back from a 43-25 halftime deficit and won 74-69!

The PAC-10 final is USC and Oregon. :cool:

Jurassic Referee Sat Mar 10, 2007 07:04am

I was downstairs just a-surfing away at all the games when my wife wandered through for a minute. For some reason, she mentioned something about having a "living trust" in our wills. I told her that I <b>never</b> wanted to live in a vegetative state, dependent on a machine and a bottle of liquids. I told her that if I ever got like that, she should pull the plug. Sooooooooo, she pulled the plug on the tv and threw out my beer.

Wimmen......:rolleyes:.....can't live with 'em, pass the beernuts....

M&M Guy Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
1) The ball doesn't have to be in flight for continuous motion to apply. The officials could have used the monitor if they wished in this case as this was a correctable error because they erroneously counted or cancelled a score.

2) The officials cannot go to the monitor to determine if a foul occurred. That is a judgment call. But if one of them had called a foul on the play, they could have used the monitor to see if that foul had happened before the expiration of time.

Thanks. When I get good enough to do TV games, I'll know these rules a lot better. ;)

1) The interesting part about this play was there didn't seem to be a definitive replay showing the foul called during the shot. I think they might've just gotten together as a crew to sort it out. I know I've had the same type of play before, and the crew has gotten together to make this call without the benefit of a monitor.

2) Let's say I was in that position where I see push, then the horn blows, and I don't blow my whistle. Can I go to the monitor to check if the horn went off before or after the push, even though I didn't actually blow my whistle for the foul?

M&M Guy Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Wimmen......:rolleyes:.....can't live with 'em, pass the beernuts....

Here 'ya go:

http://www.beernuts.com/images/items/TBM_BEER_6PACK.JPG

Scrapper1 Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
1) The ball doesn't have to be in flight for continuous motion to apply. The officials could have used the monitor if they wished in this case as this was a correctable error because they erroneously counted or cancelled a score.

I've never worked a game with a monitor and I'm sure that I never will. So I'm asking, not preaching here.

Isn't this a judgment call about when the habitual motion starts? You can't go to the monitor for judgment calls. And it's not really a correctable error. The official ruled that the foul was before the continuous motion and correctly disallowed the goal.

I'm just guessing, but I don't think the monitor can be used in this situation.

Zoochy Sat Mar 10, 2007 03:31pm

Cusa
 
I am in Memphis watching the CUSA Tournament. Quarterfinals Tulane vs Tulsa. Tulane is winning by 3 pts. I believe less than 5 seconds to play and the official scorer informs the calling official that Tulsa has just commited the 10th team foul. A1 shoots and misses the 1st throw. Just B1 enters the lane and controls the rebound. Scorekeeper signals the horn. They tell the officials that it was just the 9th team foul.:eek: Does this play sound familiar? ALL officials discuss the situation. They go to AP arrow. Arrow goes to Tulane. Tulsa got screwed (Per rule). Tulsa now has to foul (again). This time Tulane makes the throws and now Tulsa does not have a prayer to win the game. Oh so close.
So, even the scorer table screws up at the big games too.

Zoochy Sat Mar 10, 2007 03:43pm

Cusa
 
Semi Finals. Houston vs Rice. Tom O'Neill never switched after reporting a foul. He always stayed as a 'C' on the side away from the table. ALL of the 2nd half. There were a few times that one of the other officials rotated onto his side. Then when the ball went the other way, the same official rotated back to the table side.
So I'm thinking he has an injury and the others are covering for him.
Guess what? Tom O'Neill is the referee for the Finals game. Memphis vs. Houston. No problem with switches or rotations.

Mark Dexter Sat Mar 10, 2007 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
In America East, the usual case is that one team is worthy to go to the NCAAs and that is the regular season champ. Vermont looks to be that team again this year, but if they lose the championship game they would be 25-7 and in the usual fashion, the NIT will pick some 14-14 club from the ACC, or...wait for it...the SEC... that went 5-11 in their conference instead.

Just FYI (and I'm not sure if anyone else brought it up), any team that wins its conference regular-season championship but then does not get an NCAA bid is guaranteed a spot in the NIT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1