The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2001, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 298
Hi Everyone,
This are NCAA Men's Questions
Q1- When exactly does the center line re- appear during a throw-in? When a player touches the ball, catches the ball in the air , with one foot on the ground , two feet on the ground etc etc ???

Q2- During a throw-in A1 jumps from his front court and receives the ball while in the air. He then lands with his first foot in the front court and his second foot in the the back court. Is this over and back?

Q3- A1 dribbles up his back court and picks up his dribble while straddling the center line. He then throws a bounce pass- the ball actually bounces on the floor in the front court to A2, who is also straddling the center line. When A2 receives the ball while straddling the line should over and back be called?

Our Association , which has recently reverted from FIBA to NCAA rules is really divided on this area and we would appreciate a definitive answer from those who are more experienced in these rules.

Pistol
__________________
Pistol
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2001, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Devana
Hi Everyone,
This are NCAA Men's Questions
Q1- When exactly does the center line re- appear during a throw-in? When a player touches the ball, catches the ball in the air , with one foot on the ground , two feet on the ground etc etc ???
The line "re-appears" when the person who catches the ball has two feet on the ground or when the person to catch it passes the ball (which ever occurs first). The exception only applies to the first player to catch the ball.

For example: If A1, having jumped from the frontcourt, catches the ball while in the air and then, before landing, passes the ball to A2, who is in the backcourt, it is a violation.
Quote:

Q2- During a throw-in A1 jumps from his front court and receives the ball while in the air. He then lands with his first foot in the front court and his second foot in the the back court. Is this over and back?
Legal play. The player is allow to make a "normal" landing even if the first foot down is in the front ourt.
Quote:

Q3- A1 dribbles up his back court and picks up his dribble while straddling the center line. He then throws a bounce pass- the ball actually bounces on the floor in the front court to A2, who is also straddling the center line. When A2 receives the ball while straddling the line should over and back be called?
Yes. While in A1's hands, the ball had backcourt status. On the pass, it obtained frontcourt status when it bounced in the frontcourt. When A2 touches the ball, it once again obtained backcourt status. Violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2001, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 298
Hi Cameron
Thanks for your prompt reply.
Next Question: On the bounce pass from player A1 straddling the line to player A2 straddling the line.
What is the status of the 10 second count if the ball bounces on the front court?
Pistol
__________________
Pistol
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2001, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
The 10 second count ends when a passed ball touches the floor in the frontcourt. The ball has frontcourt status at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2001, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Devana
Hi Cameron
Thanks for your prompt reply.
Next Question: On the bounce pass from player A1 straddling the line to player A2 straddling the line.
What is the status of the 10 second count if the ball bounces on the front court?
Pistol
Get ready to blow the whistle for a backcourt violation as soon as A2 touches the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1