The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Play Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31989-play-situation.html)

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 19, 2007 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I think Jurassic's point is that both players similarly have no business grabbing the rim on a rebound.

Yup, along with the fact that there is no player or team control on a shot so you don't have an offense or defense, and there also can't be a backcourt either until someone does establish player control.

JoeTheRef Mon Feb 19, 2007 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, along with the fact that there is no player or team control on a shot so you don't have an offense or defense, and there also can't be a backcourt either until someone does establish player control.

You know what JR, I was actually going to say "I'm also surprised you didn't breakdown the team control or lack of it during the shot or any other rule specifics that you can interject your superior rules knowledge on any subject" but cut it out of my original response. I guess my gut feeling about you was correct and should've kept in.

JoeTheRef Mon Feb 19, 2007 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You know what JR, I was actually going to say "I'm also surprised you didn't breakdown the team control or lack of it during the shot or any other rule specifics that you can interject your superior rules knowledge on any subject" but cut it out of my original response. I guess my gut feeling about you was correct and should've kept in.

And player control is holding or dribbling a live where??? LoL

Adam Mon Feb 19, 2007 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
And player control is holding or dribbling a live where??? LoL

In the parking lot.

Indianaref Mon Feb 19, 2007 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Technical foul on B1 for grabbing the rim, if no one was under him.

What if he B1 pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position? Do we have BI and a Technical foul(as long as no one was under him)?

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You know what JR, I was actually going to say "I'm also surprised you didn't breakdown the team control or lack of it during the shot or any other rule specifics that you can interject your superior rules knowledge on any subject" but cut it out of my original response. I guess my gut feeling about you was correct and should've kept in.

Joe, if you don't want people answering your posts, why post in the first place?

Don't get mad at me just because you don't have a clue what you're talking about. You're going on about defensive players and offensive players and backcourts when none of those exist. Try learning something about the rules instead of getting pissed off because someone points out your lack of knowledge.

Please feel free to ignore me in the future.

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
What if he B1 pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position? Do we have BI and a Technical foul(as long as no one was under him)?

Yup. Casebook play 9.11.4(a).

You knew that....:)

JoeTheRef Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Joe, if you don't want people answering your posts, why post in the first place?

Don't get mad at me just because you don't have a clue what you're talking about. You're going on about defensive players and offensive players and backcourts when none of those exist. Try learning something about the rules instead of getting pissed off because someone points out your lack of knowledge.

Please feel free to ignore me in the future.

I don't have a problem with any answering or questioning me or what I post. My point was in reference to your
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, Joe, on a missed shot, there is <b>no</b> defensive player. Or offensive player either. You use A1 and B1 just to show that they're on opposite teams.

post.

Believe it or not, you're not the only one who knows the rules. Yes you use A1 and B1 to show opposite team, but in my world Team A usually refers to the offense or the last team to have team control, and Team B usually refers to defense, and that's how I was responding in my post.

I'm relatively new to this discussion board, but I see a common pattern where you feel the need to debate your rules knowledge and somebody's lack of it. I came on this board to stay in "basketball" mode during the post season, not to debate whether you or I know more or less then somebody else.

Indianaref Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup. Casebook play 9.11.4(a).

You knew that....:)

Thanks. I did not know that or I would not have asked.:rolleyes:

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I'm relatively new to this discussion board, but I see a common pattern where you feel the need to debate your rules knowledge and somebody's lack of it. I came on this board to stay in "basketball" mode during the post season, not to debate whether you or I know more or less then somebody else.

I don't feel the need to do anything but answer questions correctly if I can. And I basically don't give a damn about you or any patterns that you might think you see either. If I'm wrong and someone points it out to me, I'll simply admit it and move on. If you're wrong, I'm gonna point it out to you too. You'd better learn to deal with it instead of crying like a little baby about it.

That's also my last post to you on this too.

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
Thanks. I did not know that or I would not have asked.:rolleyes:

I assumed that you did just from the way that you cited the question, and that you were posting to clarify that for other readers. It's almost identical to the way the rule is stated in the book. There was nothing else meant by my statement.

Indianaref Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I assumed that you did just from the way that you cited the question, and that you were posting to clarify that for other readers. It's almost identical to the way the rule is stated in the book. There was nothing else meant by my statement.

Sorry about that JR. I did pull that directly out of Rule 4. I was wrong initially with the BI and wanted to be careful with my wording. Also, wanted to make sure there would be a Technical accessed also. :)

howie719 Mon Feb 19, 2007 02:30pm

Where are you in Indiana? I moved back a little while ago.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1