The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
JR, I don't follow your reasoning here if the ref has both feet oob. Why would it be illegal for the ball to touch the ref? Then when the ball goes inbounds...

I see, so it's illegal for the ball to go inbounds after it bounces oob?
Right. The ball touching the official is the same as the ball touching the floor (rule 2- Ball Location). So, we have a passed ball, touching out of bounds, then going inbounds. That's a ball that's not passd directly into the court. Violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 12:39pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Right. The ball touching the official is the same as the ball touching the floor (rule 2- Ball Location). So, we have a passed ball, touching out of bounds, then going inbounds. That's a ball that's not passd directly into the court. Violation.
So, would it be considered OOB's as I stated, or a violation? Does it really matter, as A will get the ball either way?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 12:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
So, would it be considered OOB's as I stated, or a violation? Does it really matter, as A will get the ball either way?
Technically, it's a throwin violation. It's the same call you'd make if the thrower bounced threw a bounce pass that bounced OOB before being caught in bounds by a teammate.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 01:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Had a dual violation last night. A1 getting trapped right by his bench in the 2nd half. He's used his dribble and is trying to get an angle to pass over B1 and B2. He lifts his pivot foot and I can tell it's coming down. Sure enough, he puts it down ... out of bounds. Can't remember what I called, but I gave the ball to B.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 03:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
So, would it be considered OOB's as I stated, or a violation? Does it really matter, as A will get the ball either way?
Yes, the ball is OOB when it hits the official, as you stated. It does not become a a violation however until the ball lands in-bounds though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in after made basket FrankHtown Basketball 8 Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm
Throw In After a Basket BeenThereBefore Basketball 16 Sun Oct 30, 2005 06:38pm
Throw in after basket tjchamp Basketball 6 Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:53pm
ball hits rim on throw in timharris Basketball 2 Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:18pm
Throw in hits backboard Hoosier Basketball 13 Sun Dec 16, 2001 04:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1