The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member

How long to master?

Okay it seems we have everyone from babyspanking new to gracefully aging on this forum; how long does it take to master officiating? or do you ever really get there? What are realistic goals to set for one's self regarding knowledge of the rules, mechanics, etc? I know I learn something new everyday on this forum. Is 3 to 6 months realistic to have firm knowledge of the rules? the same for mechanics?
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member

I've been officiating for 7 years and I learn one thing every game I do. It's a constant learning profession.
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Okay it seems we have everyone from babyspanking new to gracefully aging on this forum; how long does it take to master officiating? or do you ever really get there? What are realistic goals to set for one's self regarding knowledge of the rules, mechanics, etc? I know I learn something new everyday on this forum. Is 3 to 6 months realistic to have firm knowledge of the rules? the same for mechanics?
3 to 6 months??? You're joking, right? I played way back in High School. I thought I knew rules. Yea right. So, I became an Official. I am not sure how many classes or the hours of each class, but we read EVERY rule and discussed each rule. Then a few more classes on Mechanics and On Court movement. Now I'm ready! NOT!!!
You need many years of court experience. Read every rule every year. When you are not working, then go watch a good game. Watch the officials.
Talk with officials about strange plays. Ask them what they saw and why they made the call. Group discussions are very healthy.