The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2001, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Definitions

Quote:
Originally posted by bigwhistle

When in doubt, always check your definitions. They are the foundation for all rules.

Rule 4-2.2 The AP procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-in and ENDS WHEN THE THROW-IN IS COMPLETED OR WHEN THE THROW-IN TEMA COMMITS A VIOLATION.

In this instance, neither criteria was met. Therefore Team B will still have the arrow.
However, it is not clear to me (from the rules) that this is an AP throw-in. Note that the rulebook doesn't say to set the arrow to B and then to follow the AP procedure. It just indicates that since the first legal possession goes to B, then the arrow goes to A.

In fact, maybe this is the right way to look at it. If we have the scenario that I've outlined, then A gets the ball out of bounds and hence the first legal possession in bounds will be by A. By the same kind of logic that is stated in the Approved Ruline, that would cause the AP arrow to be set to B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1