The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Yep, you kicked it. The only possible call here is a technical foul for grasping the ring not to prevent an injury and since you said that this was a dunk attempt gone awry, that likely isn't appropriate.

Here is the NCAA BI rule:
Rule 4

Section 4. Basket Interference


Art. 1.
Basket interference occurs when a player:


a. Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or

within the basket;
b. Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has
the ring as its lower base; or
c. Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before
it enters the cylinder.


A.R. 68.
The ball is touching the side of the ring of Team A. B1 jumps and contacts the net. The ball is not touching the top of the ring. RULING: No violation. The ball shall remain live.



A.R. 69.
While the ball is touching the top of the ring on a field-goal attempt, a player emphatically grasps the ring. RULING: Double infraction. Both basket interference and an indirect technical foul shall be called. The moment the hand touched the ring, it was basket interference. When the player emphatically grasped the ring, an indirect technical foul occurred. (See Rule 10-3.12.)



A.R. 70.
The ball enters the basket during a field-goal try by A1. Before the ball is in flight for the try, A1 is fouled. A2 touches the ring while the ball is in the basket. RULING: Basket interference on A2. The goal shall be canceled. A1 shall be awarded two free throws because of the foul.



A.R. 71.
A1 rebounds the ball while part of the ball is in the cylinder and, in the same continuous motion, dunks. RULING: Basket interference. The ball shall be ruled dead when A1 contacts the ball in the cylinder, and the dunking of the dead ball shall be ignored. The basket shall be disallowed.



Art. 2.
Basket interference also occurs when a movable basket ring is pulled


down by a player so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its
original position.


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
If A1 was still holding onto the rim when the ball entered the basket, it would be BI.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 05:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
If A1 was still holding onto the rim when the ball entered the basket, it would be BI.
True, but not applicable to the original post. TGR called BI before the ball entered the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
True, but not applicable to the original post. TGR called BI before the ball entered the basket.
That doesn't means it's not BI. That just means he blew his whistle to early.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
Similar sit. happen in my college game....only the player was still holding the rim when the ball finally passed thru the rim/basket (after bouncing up in air while still in cylinder).

As the T I froze and was about to call a T, but C came with a BI and waved off the basket. This was the absolute best outcome on the play....H coach is happy his player did not get a T for hanging on the rim and the V coach is happy because there is no basket. Neither coach said a word or complained about the call.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 06:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea
Similar sit. happen in my college game....only the player was still holding the rim when the ball finally passed thru the rim/basket (after bouncing up in air while still in cylinder).

As the T I froze and was about to call a T, but C came with a BI and waved off the basket. This was the absolute best outcome on the play....H coach is happy his player did not get a T for hanging on the rim and the V coach is happy because there is no basket. Neither coach said a word or complained about the call.....
Well, I guess that's better than making the right call and pissing someone off.

I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Well, I guess that's better than making the right call and pissing someone off.

I guess.
How is calling BI not the right call? It is precisely the right call.

The grabbing of the rim is, at most, a judgement call and you can't say that it was right or wrong....especially if it was a dunk attempt and even more so if there were other players near the basket.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
If A1 was still holding onto the rim when the ball entered the basket, it would be BI.
Very good addition, Camron. I was envisioning the player letting go of the ring before the ball came down and entered the basket. The OP may have actually gotten the call correct for the wrong reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Made the call...messed up the free throws... Schmack42 Basketball 32 Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:50am
Is there a call to be made here? Snorg Baseball 8 Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:45am
A Call That Should Not Have Been Made, Buttttt whiskers_ump Softball 1 Sun Apr 13, 2003 03:37pm
Question for refs about a call made last night at a boys HS game. South Bay HHVBC Basketball 21 Thu Jan 16, 2003 07:08pm
Off Ball Foul / Made Basket (Correct Call?) Larks Basketball 28 Tue Jan 22, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1