![]() |
Quote:
|
Obviously I am new and learning so I enjoy these clarifications that everyone goes thru regardless how silly they seem to the old timers. It has always been planted in my head that if a player went down to recover a loose ball and got up without passing the ball first, it is traveling. Thus my interpretation from the rule I listed. If I understand you correctly, if the player starts their dribble before getting up there is no travel.
Thanks |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks, |
Quote:
If a player secures control of the ball and THEN touches the floor with anything other than a hand or foot, it is a travel. If a player secures control of the ball WHILE touching the floor with something other than a hand or foot, he may begin a dribble (or pass, or shoot, or request time-out). Once the dribble is started, he may get up off the floor. |
Aaah that makes it clearer. The before and after. Ha Now I can tell these kids the proper way to get up, instead of just calling the for traveling.
Thanks |
Quote:
|
Section 44: Traveling
Article 1 Art. 1... A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot. Art. 2... A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows: a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands: 1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot. 2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot. 3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. b. If one foot is on the floor: 1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step. 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. [See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.2] Art. 3... After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble. [See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.3] Art. 4... After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot: a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble. Art. 5... A player holding the ball: a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot. b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand. [See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.5] :D |
Yes I did. I have the Rules, Case Book, Illustrated and Officiating. I see Jcarter is breaking it down for me so let me look them up.
|
Thanks that is what I was looking for. When it is in black and white it makes it soooo much easier. I was not familiar with the ruling of lying on the back and not allowed to turn over either. Thanks again.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've been told (and agree with) to call every game like its the most important game being played that night...because to someone, it probably is. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am. |