The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul while shot is in air (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31276-foul-while-shot-air.html)

pinchmaster Sat Jan 27, 2007 05:35pm

Foul while shot is in air
 
Had this one Saturday.A1 shot for goal is in air, A2 shoves hard underneath for rebound.Partner calls foul A2. Ball goes in. Possession the other way. Does basket count? What if B is in bonus sit.? Shots or no. He says no team control and no player control because ball was in air.
Shots if in bonus. comments?

Adam Sat Jan 27, 2007 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pinchmaster
Had this one Saturday.A1 shot for goal is in air, A2 shoves hard underneath for rebound.Partner calls foul A2. Ball goes in. Possession the other way. Does basket count? What if B is in bonus sit.? Shots or no. He says no team control and no player control because ball was in air.
Shots if in bonus. comments?

If the shot is in the air when the push happens, the basket counts. If B is in the bonus, they will shoot because there is no team control during a shot.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 27, 2007 06:51pm

If B is not in the bonus, they will get an unrestricted end-line throw-in.

johnSandlin Sat Jan 27, 2007 08:31pm

Had this exact kind of play this past week in one of my games. A1's shot is in the air. During the shot, had a double personal foul on two guys vying for position on the rebound. Shot attempt was good.

Counted the basket. Went to the AP arrow at the POI.

Zoochy Sat Jan 27, 2007 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin
Had this exact kind of play this past week in one of my games. A1's shot is in the air. During the shot, had a double personal foul on two guys vying for position on the rebound. Shot attempt was good.

Counted the basket. Went to the AP arrow at the POI.

If you counted the basket, then the POI is a unrestricted end-line throw-in for Team B

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 27, 2007 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
If you counted the basket, then the POI is a unrestricted end-line throw-in for Team B

Agree. Case book play 4.19.8SitC is close enough.

Nevadaref Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Agree. Case book play 4.19.8SitC is close enough.

Agree. Case book play 4.19.8 Sit E is even closer! :)


*4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)

jmaellis Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the shot is in the air when the push happens, the basket counts. If B is in the bonus, they will shoot because there is no team control during a shot.

Does the shot count because the player who committed the foul was not the shooter?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Does the shot count because the player who committed the foul was not the shooter?

The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first.

rainmaker Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first...

...unless... (think airborne shooter).

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
...unless... (think airborne shooter).

Good catch.

Whatinthehell do you expect though at 4:52am? Perfection?:)

rainmaker Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Good catch.

Whatinthehell do you expect though at 4:52am? Perfection?:)

Hey, it's only 1:52 here. Now that's perfection!

Adam Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first.

It's already been alluded to, but the only time you kill a shot that's in the air before a foul or violation or horn is when there is a player control foul that occurs before the ball goes through the hoop.

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 28, 2007 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's already been alluded to, but the only time you kill a shot that's in the air before a foul or violation or horn is when there is a player control foul that occurs before the ball goes through the hoop.

How about if the offense swings their elbows excessively? (That gets a :D because I'm trying to get a "shut up" from Jurassic, and it also gets a :rolleyes: because of how dumb the rule is.)

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
How about if the offense swings their elbows excessively? (That gets a :D because I'm trying to get a "shut up" from Jurassic, and it also gets a :rolleyes: because of how dumb the rule is.)

Good catch, Scrappy.

I save the "shut ups" mainly for BoSox and Cubbies fans. And Dan_ref of course. You Ranger fans are kinda....what's the word.....inconsequential.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1