The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul while shot is in air (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31276-foul-while-shot-air.html)

pinchmaster Sat Jan 27, 2007 05:35pm

Foul while shot is in air
 
Had this one Saturday.A1 shot for goal is in air, A2 shoves hard underneath for rebound.Partner calls foul A2. Ball goes in. Possession the other way. Does basket count? What if B is in bonus sit.? Shots or no. He says no team control and no player control because ball was in air.
Shots if in bonus. comments?

Adam Sat Jan 27, 2007 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pinchmaster
Had this one Saturday.A1 shot for goal is in air, A2 shoves hard underneath for rebound.Partner calls foul A2. Ball goes in. Possession the other way. Does basket count? What if B is in bonus sit.? Shots or no. He says no team control and no player control because ball was in air.
Shots if in bonus. comments?

If the shot is in the air when the push happens, the basket counts. If B is in the bonus, they will shoot because there is no team control during a shot.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 27, 2007 06:51pm

If B is not in the bonus, they will get an unrestricted end-line throw-in.

johnSandlin Sat Jan 27, 2007 08:31pm

Had this exact kind of play this past week in one of my games. A1's shot is in the air. During the shot, had a double personal foul on two guys vying for position on the rebound. Shot attempt was good.

Counted the basket. Went to the AP arrow at the POI.

Zoochy Sat Jan 27, 2007 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin
Had this exact kind of play this past week in one of my games. A1's shot is in the air. During the shot, had a double personal foul on two guys vying for position on the rebound. Shot attempt was good.

Counted the basket. Went to the AP arrow at the POI.

If you counted the basket, then the POI is a unrestricted end-line throw-in for Team B

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 27, 2007 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
If you counted the basket, then the POI is a unrestricted end-line throw-in for Team B

Agree. Case book play 4.19.8SitC is close enough.

Nevadaref Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Agree. Case book play 4.19.8SitC is close enough.

Agree. Case book play 4.19.8 Sit E is even closer! :)


*4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)

jmaellis Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the shot is in the air when the push happens, the basket counts. If B is in the bonus, they will shoot because there is no team control during a shot.

Does the shot count because the player who committed the foul was not the shooter?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Does the shot count because the player who committed the foul was not the shooter?

The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first.

rainmaker Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first...

...unless... (think airborne shooter).

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
...unless... (think airborne shooter).

Good catch.

Whatinthehell do you expect though at 4:52am? Perfection?:)

rainmaker Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Good catch.

Whatinthehell do you expect though at 4:52am? Perfection?:)

Hey, it's only 1:52 here. Now that's perfection!

Adam Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The shot counts no matter who commits the foul(s) if the ball was in the air first.

It's already been alluded to, but the only time you kill a shot that's in the air before a foul or violation or horn is when there is a player control foul that occurs before the ball goes through the hoop.

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 28, 2007 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's already been alluded to, but the only time you kill a shot that's in the air before a foul or violation or horn is when there is a player control foul that occurs before the ball goes through the hoop.

How about if the offense swings their elbows excessively? (That gets a :D because I'm trying to get a "shut up" from Jurassic, and it also gets a :rolleyes: because of how dumb the rule is.)

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 28, 2007 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
How about if the offense swings their elbows excessively? (That gets a :D because I'm trying to get a "shut up" from Jurassic, and it also gets a :rolleyes: because of how dumb the rule is.)

Good catch, Scrappy.

I save the "shut ups" mainly for BoSox and Cubbies fans. And Dan_ref of course. You Ranger fans are kinda....what's the word.....inconsequential.

jmaellis Sun Jan 28, 2007 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's already been alluded to, but the only time you kill a shot that's in the air before a foul or violation or horn is when there is a player control foul that occurs before the ball goes through the hoop.

Since someone mentioned the airborne shooter, I want to be sure I understand when to kill a shot.

I understand that an airborne shooter who fouls an opponent has committed a player control foul (I think the common example is A1 who jumps, releases the ball and then crashes into B1 on the way back to the floor, with B1 having had legal guarding position); and the shot is not counted if it goes in.

Is there any difference in the way the situation is handled if the foul committed by A1 occurs after she returns to the floor? For instance, upon returning to the floor after releasing a shot, A1 grabs B1 jersey when she sees B1 heading toward the basket to position herself for the rebound. Since A1 was no longer an airborne shooter when the foul was committed, would we count the basket if it goes in, report the foul against A1, and if Team B is in the bonus they would shoot 1 or 2? If the ball doesn't go in then report the foul against A1 and Team B gets a throw in and can run the baseline?

jmaellis Mon Jan 29, 2007 05:30pm

..... Bump.....

Nevadaref Mon Jan 29, 2007 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Since someone mentioned the airborne shooter, I want to be sure I understand when to kill a shot.

I understand that an airborne shooter who fouls an opponent has committed a player control foul (I think the common example is A1 who jumps, releases the ball and then crashes into B1 on the way back to the floor, with B1 having had legal guarding position); and the shot is not counted if it goes in.

That is correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
Is there any difference in the way the situation is handled if the foul committed by A1 occurs after she returns to the floor?

Yes, the foul will no longer be a player control foul and thus will NOT cancel the goal.
Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
For instance, upon returning to the floor after releasing a shot, A1 grabs B1 jersey when she sees B1 heading toward the basket to position herself for the rebound. Since A1 was no longer an airborne shooter when the foul was committed, would we count the basket if it goes in, report the foul against A1, and if Team B is in the bonus they would shoot 1 or 2?

That is the correct idea. However, due to using grabbing the jersey in your example, you have actually given an example of an intentional foul by A1. So B1 would shoot 2FTs and then the ball would be awarded OOB for a throw-in at the nearest spot to where the foul occurred.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
If the ball doesn't go in then report the foul against A1 and Team B gets a throw in and <strike>can run the baseline?</strike>

Team B CANNOT run the end line because the try was NOT successful. It is a spot throw-in nearest to where the foul occurred.

jmaellis Mon Jan 29, 2007 07:51pm

Thanks Nevadaref .. I appreciate the help.

Unfortulatly, by the time I get all this down the season is going to end.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1