The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Rule 9-1-10 The restrictions in Articles 6 through 9 apply until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends. So everyone can enter the lane. However, if the ball doesn't touch ring at some point on the try by the shooter it's a violation.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 02:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
technically the rule says rim -- but use some judgement here please
Howintheheck could you ever use any kind of judgement on a call like this? There's absolutely NO judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howintheheck could you ever use any kind of judgement on a call like this? There's absolutely NO judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.
I concur, no rim, we have a violation. I think we may have some street ball rules going on here!!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Howintheheck could you ever use any kind of judgement on a call like this? There's absolutely NO judgement involved. The ball either hits the ring or it doesn't. It's like a player with the ball stepping on a boundary line. They either step on the line or they don't step on the line.
The same way that he fails to enforce the coaching box, if the coach is just coaching.

BTW, deecee did you see that latest memo from the NCAA on the enforcement of the coaching box?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
you mean to tell me you can tell some of those close grazes in 2 man -- with lot of banging in the paint -- sometimes the ball hitting the rim is NOT so obvious -- nice that you can read the rule book -- talk about real world applications where the ball doesnt always hit the rim obviously and bounce sideways after it does...
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
Once the ball hits the backboard...is it OK for the players along the lane to move into the lane...or do they have to wait for the ball to hit the rim?
(learning tool)
The players can move in when the ball hits the backboard or the rim. The FT is "illegal" if it hits only the backboard (and doesn't enter the basket).
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
you mean to tell me you can tell some of those close grazes in 2 man -- with lot of banging in the paint -- sometimes the ball hitting the rim is NOT so obvious -- nice that you can read the rule book -- talk about real world applications where the ball doesnt always hit the rim obviously and bounce sideways after it does...
I don't understand. Either you see it or you don't. how does that change the way you apply the rule. If you think it graze the rim you don't call it. If you don't you call it. Under what circumstances would it not hit and you would let it go?
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
and that is where your judgement comes in -- you must judge whether it hit the rim or not in those instances. It is 99% of the time black and white but once or twice a year it gets gray -- this also happens on free throws.
I am not saying to let it go on a non hit -- I am saying that the actual contact at times is up to your judgment. and in the other thread with the SEC official getting in trouble thats what it came down to and it was a big call/no-call when it happened. thats all
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is the Throw-in? Zoochy Basketball 29 Thu Nov 16, 2006 08:31pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Bizket786 Basketball 10 Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm
Throw in Ridgeben Basketball 14 Fri Oct 31, 2003 12:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1