An interesting senerio was presented during a recent discussion of the new NF rule changes, specifically the one dealing with the jurisdiction of the officials ending after all have left the confines of the court.
Sitch......Scoreboard reads 57-56. Running total in the book indicates 56-56. The horn sounds for the end of the 4th period and all officials hurry off the floor and into the dressing room.
Can the officials be brought back onto the floor and play an overtime, or does their leaving the confines of the playing floor constitute the end of the game, even though it is a tie score by the official scorebook?
Please do not answer about the poor game management and that you would never allow this to happen. What are the ways, if any, to legally remedy this situation?
|