The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Oct 27, 2001, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member

hey guys

I have watched this particular coach in a number of different games, and he is very vocal towards the officials. I have worked some of his scrimmage or pick up games that his teams have played, and he is always arguing about calls. It's not just toward me, but to every official that works his games (in a scrimmage or regulation). It doesn't upset me that he argues, but I think it really represents his school poorly and teaches his players poor habits in dealing with officials. Any advice on how to handle this situation toward getting the coach to be a little more quiet. He doesn't really say anything that would assess a T. I just think that his bickering is a little ridiculous. Remember, I'm a rookie ref.

thanks
jeremy
Old Sat Oct 27, 2001, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeremy40
hey guys

I have watched this particular coach in a number of different games, and he is very vocal towards the officials. I have worked some of his scrimmage or pick up games that his teams have played, and he is always arguing about calls. It's not just toward me, but to every official that works his games (in a scrimmage or regulation). It doesn't upset me that he argues, but I think it really represents his school poorly and teaches his players poor habits in dealing with officials. Any advice on how to handle this situation toward getting the coach to be a little more quiet. He doesn't really say anything that would assess a T. I just think that his bickering is a little ridiculous. Remember, I'm a rookie ref.

thanks
jeremy
Jeremy, there's no reason that any 1 thing need be said
in order to get a T. It's possible that an "accumulation
of BS" would be enough, *IF* the coach was distracting you