![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The problem with a clock with no tenths is that there could have been almost 2 seconds on the clock (1-1.9).
What you also dont know was if the timer started the clock started on the touch or not... Ask the timer (they are an official) at what point they started the clock... You can use that to determine if the clock started late --- If it did not start correctly you have to rectify that as well. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The clock should have started when the ball touched B1 on the court. The clock is now supposed to run until the violation occurs when the ball touches A1 OOB? Are you saying that complete sequence actually took zero time? This play is a failure of the timer to start the clock properly....maybe. I really can't tell because if the horn sounded, maybe the timer did start the clock OK. Nobody's reaction time, including any timer's, is instantaneous. Aren't you supposed to have definite knowledge of how much time elapsed before you can put time back on the clock? As in case book play 5.10.2? In that case play, the R had definite knowledge of how much time should have elapsed. That's why he can adjust the clock. In the play being discussed though, I can't see where any official has definite knowledge of how much time actually elapsed between the legal touching on-court by B1(clock should start) and the violation by A1(clock should be stopped). And if you don't have definite knowledge of how much time elapsed, you can't correct anything. And...if the horn went, the period is over. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
If the guy that administered the throw-in kept a count going after the ball was touched in-bounds, then he's got the information to adjust the clock. If he didn't, how can he? The play from "start clock" to "stop clock" sureasheck took at least a part of a second. Without 1/10's on the clock, you don't have an accurate reading to know what really happened. And you can't adjust anything without that information imo. |
|
|||
Quote:
What the OP did see is that the clock continued to run after the whistle signaling the violation. He has definate knowledge that the clock should have stopped showing 1 second. He has no knowledge regarding the start of the clock. There is only one obvious timing error and that is incorrectly stopping the clock. The clock is reset to show the amount of time remaining when the violation occured. The issue is not with the time that properly elasped; it is with the time elapsed that shouldn't have. |
|
|||
Quote:
Someone should have been in a position to verify it started properly.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
May I add/ask something?
Did the control panel count down in tenths of a second, even if the scoreboard didn't display tenths of a second? Did the display on the control panel show tenths; I recall being at a gym recently where the control panel's display showed tenths of a second, but the scoreboard didn't. Regardless, even if the display on the control panel doesn't show tenths of a second, I'd bet that the control panel still counts down in tenths. If the control panel counts down using tenths of a second, but the board doesn't show tenths, than the one second being displayed on the scoreboard could in reality be 1.9 seconds. It seems reasonable that in the scenario described by the OP that the entire play could have happened w/i .9 seconds, therefore when he heard the whistle and saw 1 second on the clock, it could have easily been 1 second left (maybe even more); the timer may have actually started the clock properly, he just didn't stop it properly. From a newbie standpoint, it seems like the OP did the right thing by putting 1 second on the clock, and since adding the time would be done manually, the internal clock would be 1.0 seconds |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Beyond which, we have no authority to deal with a clock not started properly if we do not have definate knowledge of the time that should have elapsed. Short of counting seconds, what are you using to measure the time that should have elapsed? You don't have a count going in this situation - the throw-in count has ended and no backcourt count has begun. The only definate knowledge in this situation is what was on the clock when the whistle was blown. |
|
|||
Quote:
My message is that the guy who was administering the throw-in has, or should have the most if not all the information needed to determine what needs to be done. What's possible to do is based mostly on what he knows.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
My point is that he cannot know whether or not the clock started until 1 second after the clock should have started. The information is not atainable in this situation so it cannot be an obvious timing error in regards to starting the clock. |
|
|||
Quote:
You put what the official saw at the whistle, 1 second. |
|
|||
Quote:
What the official saw at the whistle is an inaccurate reading because of the timer's failure to start the clock when he should have. The intent of the new language was never to put wrong clock readings back on the board. The rule was written to put correct clock readings back up. Iow, the exact time observed by the official in this case was the wrong time. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
kick off | yankeesfan | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 03, 2005 09:50am |
Kick off | kkid091 | Football | 6 | Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:22pm |
Kick or no? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 26 | Mon Feb 16, 2004 01:20pm |
Kick This! | JMN | Football | 2 | Fri Jan 10, 2003 01:57pm |
fan tell me i am going to kick your ass! | joselirizarry | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 31, 2001 08:56pm |