The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2000, 08:33pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs down

quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust on 01-24-2000 05:00 PM

A T is appropriate. You said "it shakes like crazy from the slap." It doesn't matter if it was intentional or not. Rule 10-3-6 says it is a T if the player causes the ring to vibrate while the ball is in flight (among other cases). Many will say no T because it is not deliberate and they would be generally correct if it were simply contact on the board secondary to the block attempt. But, this case is different. The backboard shook "like crazy".



Camron, Camron, Camron! Where have you been buddy? I'm still doing some games at The Hoop and haven't seen you for a while. As to your comment, I really don't understand how you can say this. It's not the players fault if the equipment sucks.

The rule book and case book are incredibly specific on not calling this if it wasn't intentional - period.

Knowing you, you must have some deep, insightful interpretation to counter this arguement. Please enlighten us.




[This message has been edited by Mark Padgett (edited January 24, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1