The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2001, 04:54pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Mr. DeNucci is wrong...the new rule says they may still run the baseline...case book 7.5.7 Situation A on pg 4 addresses this particular situation...

DJ
I am ashamed that I had forgotten about that new case book play. I understand the logic in the ruling, but it leaves my wondering why it is in direct conflict with the logic that the NFHS uses when one of the jumpers catches the ball before a jump ball ends.

If A1 (one of the two jumpers) takes player control of the ball before the jump ball ends, the NFHS ruling is that Team A has gained control for AP purposes and the AP arrow is set toward Team B's basket, and by A1 gaining player control in violation of the jump ball rule, Team B gets a throw-in nearest the spot of the violation by A1. I hope everybody can see where I am going with this.

In the case book play, Team B's throw-in ended when A1 touched the ball with his/her foot, A1 committed a floor violation by illegally kicking the ball. See how this logic is in line with the NFHS's jump ball violation above.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1