The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
How do you respond to coach who is right but an a** about it?

Here's the sitch. Girls varsity game in large gym that has regulation court plus 3 courts at right angles to main court. Gym also supports volleyball, kickball, God only knows what else. The result is that there are zillions of lines on court. Unfortunately, there is another line parallel to, and just a few inches from, the half-court line. Player in frontcourt dribbles ball just over bogus line but not on real line. Ref calls backcourt violation. Coach goes ballistic. Do you reverse the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
Here's the sitch. Girls varsity game in large gym that has regulation court plus 3 courts at right angles to main court. Gym also supports volleyball, kickball, God only knows what else. The result is that there are zillions of lines on court. Unfortunately, there is another line parallel to, and just a few inches from, the half-court line. Player in frontcourt dribbles ball just over bogus line but not on real line. Ref calls backcourt violation. Coach goes ballistic. Do you reverse the call?
Yes, if it's before the ensuing throw-in ends. And, I address the coach's reaction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:40am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
Here's the sitch. Girls varsity game in large gym that has regulation court plus 3 courts at right angles to main court. Gym also supports volleyball, kickball, God only knows what else. The result is that there are zillions of lines on court. Unfortunately, there is another line parallel to, and just a few inches from, the half-court line. Player in frontcourt dribbles ball just over bogus line but not on real line. Ref calls backcourt violation. Coach goes ballistic. Do you reverse the call?
Reverse the call, then T the coach. That way the turnover is now the coach's fault.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
I think you should go over to the calling official and tell them what you know. Then you let the calling official decide if he wants to reverse his call.

I find nothing wrong with quietly saying to a coach, "I might have booted that call. I'll try to get it right next time". (but not too early, LOL. Some coaches may see this as a sign of weakness and work on you).

The other night, I was throwing the ball in at the table. The visiting coach said something (I can't remember exactly what it was). I turned to him and said "Coach, I'm doing the best that I can out here". I thought he was going to say something like "If that's your best.....". Instead he replies quickly "You better be". It made me laugh.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
I was in the stands. Ref reversed call, but did not T-up apoplectic (sp?) coach. But let's say he did. After team B shoots freethrows, does team A then get to inbound on the errant backcourt call?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
I was in the stands. Ref reversed call, but did not T-up apoplectic (sp?) coach. But let's say he did. After team B shoots freethrows, does team A then get to inbound on the errant backcourt call?
Not in HS rules. The penalty for the T includes a throw-in.

Under NCAA rules, the ball returns to POI (which would be A's throw-in on the inadvertant whistle).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 09:03am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
I was in the stands. Ref reversed call, but did not T-up apoplectic (sp?) coach. But let's say he did. After team B shoots freethrows, does team A then get to inbound on the errant backcourt call?
Nope, that's why I said earlier:
Quote:
Reverse the call, then T the coach. That way the turnover is now the coach's fault.
B/c now, the coach's ignorant response will be the reason his team will not retain possession. I'm sure most of us have worked games with confusing lines. The coaches also know that the lines are confusing. Going ballistic over an honest and correctable mistake serves no purpose.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
Thanks all. Sadly, the coach in question is a local sports legend (having played pro ball) and gets a little too much leeway at times.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 09:03am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time2Ref
I think you should go over to the calling official and tell them what you know. Then you let the calling official decide if he wants to reverse his call.

I find nothing wrong with quietly saying to a coach, "I might have booted that call. I'll try to get it right next time". (but not too early, LOL. Some coaches may see this as a sign of weakness and work on you).

The other night, I was throwing the ball in at the table. The visiting coach said something (I can't remember exactly what it was). I turned to him and said "Coach, I'm doing the best that I can out here". I thought he was going to say something like "If that's your best.....". Instead he replies quickly "You better be". It made me laugh.
I think the OP was asking a basic question about reversing a call that we (officials) would make in error. I don't think the OP meant would you go and reverse your partner's call.

Additionally, I cringe (inside) when I hear officials say, "We are going to work hard...", "We are going to do a good job for you" and especially "I'm doing the best I can..." I would say just leave those statements alone.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
I think the OP was asking a basic question about reversing a call that we (officials) would make in error. I don't think the OP meant would you go and reverse your partner's call.

Additionally, I cringe (inside) when I hear officials say, "We are going to work hard...", "We are going to do a good job for you" and especially "I'm doing the best I can..." I would say just leave those statements alone.
I agree. That should be understood, you'll do your best all the time. You wouldn't say, "Sorry coach, my heart's not really in it tonight!" Would you?
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 109
I'm guilty

We all kick a call once in awhile...unlike coaches. I had a situation about a month ago in a boys varsity game that ended up going to double OT (I know, my partner and I screwed up not only once, but twice ). Anyway, with about 2 minutes left in regulation, Team A was in the bonus and shooting a 1 and 1. I was administering the FT and when I entered the lane I told the players that it was two shots. For whatever reason my partner did not catch my mistake. Needless to say, the shooter missed the front end of the one and one and the ball was caught be a Team B player who then promptly handed it to me out of bounds. Immediately the Team B coach realizes the mistake and starts to scream that it was a one and one. I know how we handled the situation, but I would be interested in how you would do it.

Even though the game went to 2OT it was some of the most fun I've ever had in a game. I would definitely take a few more like this every year.
__________________
Yo Lama....How about a little somethin' for the effort...
--Carl Spackler
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 11:33am
biz biz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time2Ref
I find nothing wrong with quietly saying to a coach, "I might have booted that call. I'll try to get it right next time". (but not too early, LOL. Some coaches may see this as a sign of weakness and work on you).
As a coach I have great respect for officials who are willing to admit they might have missed a call. I'm not perfect as a coach and I understand (as an official and a coach) that officials are not perfect.

As an official I have no problem with telling a coach I might have missed one if I think I missed it. I also don't have a problem admitting the same to the players on the floor. I think, in general, it makes the guys/gals in stripes seem more like people and not like the enemy.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 12:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
A few years ago I was doing a boys freshman game; hotly contested for most of the game. Visiting team was pulling away in the fourth quarter, though, and had put their scrubs in with about 90 seconds remaining. Home team starts creeping back in it, and the visiting coach pulls the scrubs out after one of his kids gets fouled with about 45 seconds left. We’re shooting two, so the subs come in after the first free throw, and one of the scrubs doesn’t like being pulled so he kicks a chair and throws a water bottle onto the court.

Partner calls a flagrant T, coach apologizes and sends the kid to the locker room with an assistant coach. As we get ready to administer the second of the original two free throws, my partner says “two shots” to the shooter. As soon as he said it, he looked at me and we both knew he was wrong. Before he could correct himself, the home coach went ballistic. Partner walks over calmly and speaks through the coach’s antics, says, “Coach, we’ve got it handled. We’re getting it right, but we’re not going to have you show us up.” He walked the coach back to his bench while the coach stammered like a child, “but, but, but…”

Right now I’m not sure I wouldn’t T the coach.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 01:12pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
I had this happen a few years ago -- a court with more lines on it than possible sports to play -- heel hits line, partner whistles a backcourt violation, realizes almost immediately it's an inadvertant whistle.

Coach said it happens a few times each season. Shrugged. Life went on.

I can't imagine a coach being a jerk about this. I wonder how a coach like this would act when he had a reason to be upset.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 01:32pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
[quote=biz].. I think, in general, it makes the guys/gals in stripes seem more like people and not like the enemy.[/quote]

Yesssssss! From the mouth of a coach.
How many times today during normal conversations disagreements and so forth has anyone used a stop sign today? Didn't think so. Coaches are people and officials are people.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Columnist's tantrum- would you respond? buckrog64 Football 18 Thu Oct 26, 2006 05:12pm
How to respond? Adam Basketball 19 Thu Feb 10, 2005 06:33pm
Oatmeal queen please respond rviotto13 Basketball 14 Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:11pm
How do you respond when....? SeanFitzRef Basketball 7 Mon Nov 15, 2004 03:44pm
How would you respond to this coach? Andy Softball 6 Thu May 20, 2004 03:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1