The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scatmaster
At half time: Sit. 1. one of the varsity officials came into locker room and asked why i hadn't called a foul when the two men went down. I told him because neither man was in an advantageous position, and I didn't deem any of the contact to be anything other than incidental. He said I was wrong, "anytime that two men go down, you're calling something".
I've seen more than two players go down and officials calling nothing.

That "rule" holds primarily in block-charge situations: when both players fall down, a foul has occurred (in most cases): someone is responsible for the contact an there is clearly a disadvantage for the other one.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 11:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
That "rule" holds primarily in block-charge situations: when both players fall down, a foul has occurred (in most cases): someone is responsible for the contact an there is clearly a disadvantage for the other one.
Bingo! We have a winner. If one player has the ball, there should be a call.

You are wise beyond your years.

You must be an Inter-Milan fan.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Bingo! We have a winner. If one player has the ball, there should be a call.

You are wise beyond your years.
Thank you. I'm not as Jurassic as you, but I have the third lower registration number in our local association. Unfortunately not on court any more (Achilles' tendon surrendered).

Quote:
You must be an Inter-Milan fan.
NO!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 02:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
I've seen more than two players go down and officials calling nothing.

That "rule" holds primarily in block-charge situations: when both players fall down, a foul has occurred (in most cases): someone is responsible for the contact an there is clearly a disadvantage for the other one.

Ciao
Last night I had two guys go down and no-called it.

Dribbler, in the paint, cut too close to a stationary defender (not legally guarding, but stationary and facing left-front shoulder of dribbler) and got his left foot tangled up with the defender's left foot.

Both went down. Ball went out of bounds.
The defender was good; I could not bail out the dribbler.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Last night I had two guys go down and no-called it.

Dribbler, in the paint, cut too close to a stationary defender (not legally guarding, but stationary and facing left-front shoulder of dribbler) and got his left foot tangled up with the defender's left foot.

Both went down. Ball went out of bounds.
The defender was good; I could not bail out the dribbler.
I said "in most cases"! This case seems either foul on the offense or no call, but it is not a proper block-charge situation.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 04:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Last night I had two guys go down and no-called it.

Dribbler, in the paint, cut too close to a stationary defender (not legally guarding, but stationary and facing left-front shoulder of dribbler) and got his left foot tangled up with the defender's left foot.

Both went down. Ball went out of bounds.
The defender was good; I could not bail out the dribbler.



Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
I said "in most cases"! This case seems either foul on the offense or no call, but it is not a proper block-charge situation.

Ciao
Yes, eg-italy, no argument here.
I know you said most cases.
Just thouight I'd offer a least one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1