The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
In situation 1, you were 100% correct. The rule book states:
Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe.

In situation 2, I'd have to be there to respond. Certainly you were correct in what you called. As for game management, that's open to interpretation. Would you have made the same call if the player had done the same thing at the 75' mark, just after an inbound from the far end line (assuming no pressure)?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1