The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Rule 4-35-3?

Can you tell me where I can find this rule?

Thank!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by justjames
Can you tell me where I can find this rule?

Thank!
page 37 of the rules book!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 106
lorenj cited National Federation of High Schools basketball rule 4-35-3, which reads:

The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.


The Article 1 reference (4-35-1) reads:

The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 02:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
What about the opposite: A1 in the BC and passes towards FC where A2 (who had FC status) catches ball in the air and lands with one foot on the division line and the other in FC ...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 02:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
What about the opposite: A1 in the BC and passes towards FC where A2 (who had FC status) catches ball in the air and lands with one foot on the division line and the other in FC ...
Johnny,
Does Team A have team control?
What status (fc or bc) did A2 have when he jumped?
So what status does the ball have once he touches it?
Is the division line in the fc or the bc?
When A2 lands and touches the division line, what status does he and thus the ball now have?

Now answer your own question. Do you have a violation here?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Isn't this one of the exceptions to the backcourt violation - written for inbounds passes? I can't remember the rule reference - but I do remember there are specific exceptions, and I thought that situation was one of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Gilbert
lorenj cited National Federation of High Schools basketball rule 4-35-3, which reads:

The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.


The Article 1 reference (4-35-1) reads:

The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 11:40am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
Isn't this one of the exceptions to the backcourt violation - written for inbounds passes? I can't remember the rule reference - but I do remember there are specific exceptions, and I thought that situation was one of them.
The exceptions only apply to throw-ins, jump balls and defensive steals, Iow, they're not relevant to the situation being discussed above.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The exceptions only apply to throw-ins, jump balls and defensive steals, Iow, they're not relevant to the situation being discussed above.
Ah ok - I was reading it as a throw-in, which, upon rereading, it was not. This is simply a player with the ball in the frontcourt passing a ball to a player who has jumped out of the backcourt, but has not landed in the frontcourt yet. Of course - violation.
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2007, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
Isn't this one of the exceptions to the backcourt violation - written for inbounds passes? I can't remember the rule reference - but I do remember there are specific exceptions, and I thought that situation was one of them.
9-9-3
Exceptions occur when there is no team control.
Jump ball, throw-in and defensive player (intercepting pass).
Exception only applys to the player catching the ball while both feet are not touching the floor.
I include this Rule in all my pregame discussion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look Back Rule BuggBob Softball 7 Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am
Look Back Rule ??? 3afan Softball 2 Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:03am
LBR [look back rule] whiskers_ump Softball 2 Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:04pm
Cannot find NFHS rule IUgrad92 Basketball 20 Wed Feb 12, 2003 10:38am
Please find rule shipwreck Softball 6 Tue Jul 24, 2001 10:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1