The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 02:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
As you can see, I quickly changed it, however, in 10.3.6, it is a player (not team) T to "delay the game by acts such as...", so an official could rule that a player himself is delaying the game. I'm not saying you should look for this, but be aware that in certain situations, this might be appropriate under similar circumstances as the facts listed. Then, once it is a player T, it does count toward the 5 for that player.

If he's on his way back down court and just flicks the ball toward the baseline, that still fits under section 1.
The NFHS has already looked into it. After they did, they issued case book play 10.1.5SitD. That states that an official should call a team technical foul, not a player technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 03:22pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
I think the rules support calling an unsportsmanlike technical on a player if you feel his/her actions were truly egregious. This seems like one of those calls that is at your discretion.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 07:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
That case book play deals with someone delaying a throw-in after a made basket. It tells you to call a team technical foul if someone does interfere and delay the throw-in.

Why try to find something else to apply when he NFHS is already telling us what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
They are NOT telling us what to do in the situation I described. The casebook says, "A3 slaps the ball away..." That's different from what I described.

What is the purpose of Rule 10.3.6A?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
What is the purpose of Rule 10-3-6a
(Rules book citations use hyphens, case book citations use dots.)

10-3-6a is there to cover situations in which a player delays the game, but it is not one of the four situations for which a team warning is authorized.

Now if you wish an example of such a situation...
A1 loses the ball OOB in his backcourt against light pressure. B1 attempts to get the ball back into play quickly as he sees that his teammates reacted quickly to the turnover and have run down the court leaving their opponents far behind in the new backcourt. B1 has fetched the ball and is about to hand it to the official when A1 recognizes his team's disadvantage and therefore jumps in front of B1 and prevents him from getting the ball to the official.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA Basketball Rules & Mechanics Luis Basketball 5 Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:16am
Basketball Rules Exam I flaref0812 Basketball 10 Fri Oct 21, 2005 05:19am
basketball rules questions maine wildman Basketball 1 Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:54pm
Basketball rules tgl Basketball 16 Tue Mar 23, 2004 07:13am
Rules for three on three basketball kletis55 Basketball 2 Mon Jul 17, 2000 11:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1