The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 25, 2006, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
1. 1. It's not a Personal foul, but it does count toward the 5 total fouls for DQ purposes. Remember, the DQ rule for players is at 5 fouls (personal and technical), 2 technical fouls, or 1 flagrant (personal or technical) foul.

2. Assuming the official ruled the player fouled as in the act of shooting (and it sounds like that may not have happened), the shot should count, the player gets the 2 free throws, and your team gets the ball for a throw in nearest the spot of the foul. If the player was ruled to not have been in the act of shooting, its 2 shots and the ball.

So what happened?
TX, I'm sure you will check your book and see that your answer to #1 is not right.

Good point on #2. The scoring of the goal does depend upon the decision of the official as to whether the fouled player was in the act of shooting at the time of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 25, 2006, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 6
He was ruled in the act of shooting and they did count the bucket whixh was correct. We shot two free throws, they talked for a long time, and then we shot ANOTHER one, and then got the ball OOB!

I know we are all posting at the same time, so just to be clear... THE INDIRECT DOES NOT GO TOWARDS DQ, CORRECT!?

Sorry, I keep calling it indirect because that is what they were saying, not because I don't believe you! TEAM TECHNICAL!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 25, 2006, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopGun
He was ruled in the act of shooting and they did count the bucket whixh was correct. We shot two free throws, they talked for a long time, and then we shot ANOTHER one, and then got the ball OOB!

I know we are all posting at the same time, so just to be clear... THE INDIRECT DOES NOT GO TOWARDS DQ, CORRECT!?

Sorry, I keep calling it indirect because that is what they were saying, not because I don't believe you! TEAM TECHNICAL!
You are correct that this technical foul is NOT charged to that player in any way. It does not count as one of his five fouls towards disqualification. Also NOTHING is charged to the player who knocked the ball away earlier that resulted in the team warning for delay.

BTW where did the officials award your team the throw-in -- on the end line near the basket or out a midcourt?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Dec 25, 2006 at 11:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 25, 2006, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 6
They awarded it Baseline Out of Bounds under our own goal on the side that the free throw was shot on. Correct I assume?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 25, 2006, 11:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Sounds like they only screwed up in two ways. Terminology and giving your player an extra free throw. Did they make the fouled shooter take the free throws, or did they have you pick a shooter?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopGun
They awarded it Baseline Out of Bounds under our own goal on the side that the free throw was shot on. Correct I assume?
Yep, they got that part correct.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
A Team Tech does count towards the team total for that half?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 01:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
A Team Tech does count towards the team total for that half?
Yes, Johnny, in NFHS basketball ALL fouls except for indirect technical fouls charged to the Head Coach count towards the team total in the half.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
TX, I'm sure you will check your book and see that your answer to #1 is not right.
As you can see, I quickly changed it, however, in 10.3.6, it is a player (not team) T to "delay the game by acts such as...", so an official could rule that a player himself is delaying the game. I'm not saying you should look for this, but be aware that in certain situations, this might be appropriate under similar circumstances as the facts listed. Then, once it is a player T, it does count toward the 5 for that player.

If he's on his way back down court and just flicks the ball toward the baseline, that still fits under section 1.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 02:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
As you can see, I quickly changed it, however, in 10.3.6, it is a player (not team) T to "delay the game by acts such as...", so an official could rule that a player himself is delaying the game. I'm not saying you should look for this, but be aware that in certain situations, this might be appropriate under similar circumstances as the facts listed. Then, once it is a player T, it does count toward the 5 for that player.

If he's on his way back down court and just flicks the ball toward the baseline, that still fits under section 1.
The NFHS has already looked into it. After they did, they issued case book play 10.1.5SitD. That states that an official should call a team technical foul, not a player technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 03:22pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
I think the rules support calling an unsportsmanlike technical on a player if you feel his/her actions were truly egregious. This seems like one of those calls that is at your discretion.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 07:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The casebook play you reference deals with that one and only that one play that's listed. What if a player grabs the ball, holds it, then when his team is in position, passes it to the official? Then does it again?

All I'm saying is to be aware of section 3 article 6 and use your judgment as to whether that section applies to a given situation better than article 1.
That case book play deals with someone delaying a throw-in after a made basket. It tells you to call a team technical foul if someone does interfere and delay the throw-in.

Why try to find something else to apply when he NFHS is already telling us what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 26, 2006, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
They are NOT telling us what to do in the situation I described. The casebook says, "A3 slaps the ball away..." That's different from what I described.

What is the purpose of Rule 10.3.6A?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
What is the purpose of Rule 10-3-6a
(Rules book citations use hyphens, case book citations use dots.)

10-3-6a is there to cover situations in which a player delays the game, but it is not one of the four situations for which a team warning is authorized.

Now if you wish an example of such a situation...
A1 loses the ball OOB in his backcourt against light pressure. B1 attempts to get the ball back into play quickly as he sees that his teammates reacted quickly to the turnover and have run down the court leaving their opponents far behind in the new backcourt. B1 has fetched the ball and is about to hand it to the official when A1 recognizes his team's disadvantage and therefore jumps in front of B1 and prevents him from getting the ball to the official.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA Basketball Rules & Mechanics Luis Basketball 5 Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:16am
Basketball Rules Exam I flaref0812 Basketball 10 Fri Oct 21, 2005 05:19am
basketball rules questions maine wildman Basketball 1 Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:54pm
Basketball rules tgl Basketball 16 Tue Mar 23, 2004 07:13am
Rules for three on three basketball kletis55 Basketball 2 Mon Jul 17, 2000 11:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1