The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30394-shooter-unintentionally-drops-ball.html)

cshs81 Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:50am

Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball
 
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?

It's a fumble, not a rebound. He may recover. If he's already used his dribble, he cannot dribble again.

rbruno Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:14am

If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.

cshs81 Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.

Can you not catch a fumble?

Scrapper1 Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:59am

In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.

rbruno Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:03pm

you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor. Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter. it's a travel because he left his feet

Scrapper1 Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.

I disagree. To be an airborne shooter, you have release the ball on a try. That didn't happen here.

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor.


What's the rule reference for this restriction?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.


No, he's not an airborne shooter. He never shot the ball. The rule says nothing about an airborne shooter fumbling, because it's inherently impossible; you can't fumble a ball that's been released for a shot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
it's a travel because he left his feet

Based on what?

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 22, 2006 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.

I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued <i>ad infinitum, ad nauseum</i>......to no definitive agreement.

jcarter Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:11pm

I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcarter
I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.

Case book play 4.44SitB is what you're looking for. The player can dribble again though. New player and team control was established. The case play is only valid for a "try" though, not a "fumble".

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:28pm

Let me change this slightly. A1 picks up his pivot foot, ready to shoot but fumbles instead. Can he put down his pivot foot and then recover the ball without traveling? Can he recover the ball and then put down his pivot foot?

Nevadaref Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued ad infinitum, ad nauseum......to no definitive agreement.

I too recall that discussion. I believe that Bob Jenkins posted an interp from 2000-01 which stated that this was a traveling violation under NFHS rules.

BTW, I had argued that it was a legal play.

So Bob, how about posting ALL of the interps from that year in a separate thread? Please! :) Thanks.

BktBallRef Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:47pm

http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=27472

Adam Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:29am

Okay, I think I see how this is traveling. Since a fumble is not one of the allowed actions a player may take after lifting his pivot foot, it should be a travel. However, I don't think it depends on whether the fumbler is the first to recover the ball after he lands. It's either a travel right away, or she can recover it without penalty.

Johnny Ringo Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:47am

O.K. The play: A1 takes two dribbles from the top of the key towards the wing...jumps (jumpshot) for a try and the basketball rockets out of his hands straight up in the air.

NOTE: A1 was in the air when this happened.

A1 returns to the floor and then catches the ball (first to touch).

Is this legal? If so are they allowed to pivot, dribble, shoot, pass, etc ...

Nevadaref Sat Dec 23, 2006 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
O.K. The play: A1 takes two dribbles from the top of the key towards the wing...jumps (jumpshot) for a try and the basketball rockets out of his hands straight up in the air.

NOTE: A1 was in the air when this happened.

A1 returns to the floor and then catches the ball (first to touch).

Is this legal? If so are they allowed to pivot, dribble, shoot, pass, etc ...

Depends...
1. on whether this is an NCAA or NFHS game
2. on whom you ask

Go read the old thread. Tony posted a link to it. Within that one is another old thread on this. Read that one too. Then you can answer your own question.

just another ref Sat Dec 23, 2006 03:41am

How do we draw the line between a fumble and a shot that "came out of his hand funny?" If it has been established that A1 "went up for a shot," then who are we to critique the quality of his release?

Johnny Ringo Sat Dec 23, 2006 01:08pm

Nobody really knows what the call is here?

Adam Sat Dec 23, 2006 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Nobody really knows what the call is here?

I wouldn't say that. What I would say is there is no consensus on this play. Some know but disagree with others who know. :)

Johnny Ringo Sat Dec 23, 2006 04:16pm

If that play happens in your game: what's your call?

Adam Sat Dec 23, 2006 04:21pm

Travel. The restrictions on what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot are explicit, and the rule doesn't allow for a player to lift his pivot foot and then fumble.

Johnny Ringo Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:59pm

O.K. New play, same situation:

A1 comes to a stop after dribbling. Shot fakes, with both feet on the ground (feet never leave ground, i.e: he does not appear to be jumping for a try) ... the ball rockets out and straight upward.

Can A1 move and catch the ball and if so do what?

Adam Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:05am

Pass, call time-out, or shoot. He gets to establish a new pivot foot. He does not get a new dribble.

Change it slightly. He takes one step with his non-pivot foot and lifts his pivot foot; then fumbles. I've got a travel for the same reason I do on the airborne fumble.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 24, 2006 07:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
O.K. New play, same situation:

A1 comes to a stop after dribbling. Shot fakes, with both feet on the ground (feet never leave ground, i.e: he does not appear to be jumping for a try) ... the ball rockets out and straight upward.

Can A1 move and catch the ball and if so do what?

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball. (9-5)

After recovering, the only thing this player may not do is dribble again. That would be a double dribble violation.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 24, 2006 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Change it slightly. He takes one step with his non-pivot foot and lifts his pivot foot; then fumbles. I've got a travel for the same reason I do on the airborne fumble.

Adam,
Calling a travel here based upon 4-44-3a runs into the same argument as the airborne player situation of 4-44-3b. Namely, all of the prescribed limits on foot movement in 4-44 only apply to a player "while holding the ball." It says so right there in the first sentence.

In your play once the player fumbles he is no longer holding the ball. Therefore, the traveling doesn't apply.

Adam Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:16pm

I'm not sure I agree. The limits control what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot. Starting a dribble does not constitute "holding the ball," yet you call him for traveling if he starts it after raising the pivot foot.
Like I said, I'm still willing to think this through.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:48pm

While it is true that that is traveling, it is not because of 4-44-3a, but rather part c which specifically states that action is illegal.

There is no such specific statement for a fumble.

If I were to apply the same logic you used here, "The restrictions on what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot are explicit,..." to 4-44-3c, then I would point out that this rule is also explicit and it only forbids starting a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. It does not say that the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released when fumbled! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1