![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I have not thoroughly read everyone's comments ... perhaps I'm a little over anxious to enter the discussion.
In the original post I had the feeling that the defender jumped toward the shooter and would eventually land on the shooter. This situation is a freebie for the shooter - any contact with the defender is going to get the shooter free-throws. I believe JR read the OP to say that the defender would NOT land on the shooter and that while the defender was in the air, the shooter then moved INTO the position where the defender would land. I feel JR is correct in calling this contact on the shooter. Once a player is airborne, they are going to land in a particular spot; that is the physics of the situation - they cannot change directions while they are in the air. If another player moves into the landing spot, the contact was then initiated by the player moving into the landing spot and the foul, if called, must be assessed to them. Put the ball in opposite hands. If the shooter has a clear path to the basket and commits himself to that clear path (jumps toward the basket), then a defender moves into the path such that the shooter cannot avoid the collision, we call a block and assess the "defender" with a foul. I think both sides of this discussion are simply interpretting the OP a slight bit differently.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford |
|
|||
|
If the defender has established legal guarding position, he has the right to move and maintian a legal guarding position. If he jumps he has the floor to the ceiling. It doesn't matter if he is aggressive so long he has not put the offensive player at a disadvantage. If the offensive player makes the contact, foul is on the offensive player.
Additionally, if the defender jumped up in his vertical plane and if the offensive player intentionally undercuts the defender, it would not be a player control foul, but an intentional foul. If the defender had no legal guarding position, then the foul is against the defender. BUT....in most situations, a majority high school officials are not referee-ing the defense (RTD). The eyes are mostly focused on the offensive and his/her movements. By the time they see the play, a majority of the high school officials will call it on the defender. The better college officials will call it a no-call or an player control foul. I have worked many games and seen many officials who do not get this call right. Getting the right angle and RTD will be the best factor in making this call correct. But this is a judgment play -- did the defense have the legal guarding position or not??? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Move Up? | Hartsy | Basketball | 30 | Fri Jul 29, 2005 08:54pm |
| Mechanics...should I move? | Little Jimmy | Softball | 4 | Sun May 08, 2005 10:31am |
| I said move! | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:55am |
| NFL "football move" | emceemc | Football | 3 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 03:44pm |
| Move up? | refjef40 | Softball | 7 | Tue Apr 01, 2003 05:38pm |