The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30264-travel-not.html)

Nevadaref Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Just to add to this; if the ball hits A2 in the back (he's OOB) and bounces directly inbounds without touching the floor OOB, this bounce is now the throwin and must be touched inbounds next by anyone but A2 to avoid a throwin violation.

Are you sure about that? Did A2 really make a throw-in pass? Did he throw, bat, or roll the ball onto the court? ;)

Adam Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Are you sure about that? Did A2 really make a throw-in pass? Did he throw, bat, or roll the ball onto the court? ;)

Nothing says he can't bat it with his head. ;)

jmaellis Thu Dec 21, 2006 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Nothing says he can't bat it with his head. ;)

I'm trying to follow this. I got the running the end line thing down .. as long as the ball is passed between players who are out of bounds along the end line it's okay as long as there are not any other throw in violations like 5 seconds or stepping in bounds while holding the ball.

What I'm having a hard time with is the scenario in which the ball is passed from A1 who is OOB behind he end line to A2 who is also OOB behind the end line but on the way it hits A3 on the back or head (or whatever?) while A3 has one foot OOB and one foot inbounds. Is this not a throw in violation considering A3 had a foot in bounds? If it isn't a violation how does it differ from a scenario where A1 step inbounds while still holding the ball?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Just to clarify and add an exception to what you've just stated - A teammate who is not taking part in the throw-in <font color = red>(say one who is has his/her back turned to the thrower and has out of bounds status)</font> touches or is touched by the ball, it's a throw-in violation by A, the throw-in ends, and it's B's ball at the spot nearest the violation.

Inadvertantly or incorrectly, yes.

There's the original post, Nevada and BktBallRef. Note- <b>"has out of bounds status"</b>. In a later post, Hawkeye again reiterated that the teammate had OOB status but was standing with one foot touching OOB. There is no mention anywhere that the player was straddling the endline- i.e. also had one foot touching inbounds. . If he was, it should have been stated as such by Hawkeye. It wasn't.

You're both reading something into the play that has never been stated anywhere. I answered the question as per his original post, as did Scrapper also. There is no violation if his teammate was defined as being "outside the boundary line"( as in R7-5-7), as he would be if he was "standing with one foot out of bounds".

Of course, it is a different call if he was straddling the endline. That is a violation.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Are you sure about that? Did A2 really make a throw-in pass? Did he throw, bat, or roll the ball onto the court? ;)

You tell me. Do you regard the ball going off his body as being a "throw-in pass" or not?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
If a Team A player is straddling the boundary line when he touches a live ball during a throw-in, IT IS A VIOLATION. There's no scenario where that would be legal.

Where did he state that he was straddling the boundary line?:confused:

Nevadaref Thu Dec 21, 2006 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Nothing says he can't bat it with his head. ;)

Wanna bet? :)

4-15-1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 21, 2006 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Where did he state that he was straddling the boundary line?:confused:

He implied it in post #30 which you quoted in #32 when he described the player as "one foot touching out of bounds," and then later wrote, "(I agree that the ball touching another A player who is completely out of bounds on an endline pass during the throw-in would not be a violation.)"

One would have to understand that he meant the first player with "one foot touching out of bounds" has the other foot touching inbounds, otherwise this player would, in fact, be "completely out of bounds."

Got it? :)

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
He implied it in post #30 which you quoted in #32 when he described the player as "one foot touching out of bounds," and then later wrote, "(I agree that the ball touching another A player who is completely out of bounds on an endline pass during the throw-in would not be a violation.)"

One would have to understand that he meant the first player with "one foot touching out of bounds" has the other foot touching inbounds, otherwise this player would, in fact, be "completely out of bounds."

Got it? :)

Where did he <b>state</b>, not <b>imply</b> that the player was straddling the end line?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Wanna bet? :)

4-15-1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Howinthetheheck did you go from the <b>throw-in pass</b> that Snaqs was talking about to a <b>dribble</b>?:confused:

Adam Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Wanna bet? :)

4-15-1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Unless I see a clear ruling that tells me it's a violation, I'm letting it go. Trying to determine whether a bat is a bat is a legal throwin pass doesn't get me there.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Unless I see a clear ruling that tells me it's a violation, I'm letting it go. Trying to determine whether a bat is a bat is a legal throwin pass doesn't get me there.

A "dribble" is a "throw-in" doesn't get me there either.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Dec 21, 2006 01:05pm

Alright, I have to confess that I did mean (but left out in post #30, apparently in my haste to type it out) that the player had one foot out of bounds and one foot inbounds. - Nevada's correct in his/her assumption.

So this is a violation, and I was originally correct - just extremely unclear in my description. (I sincerely apologize, as I know how annoying that is on here - especially since it has generated so much discussion about that particluar play).

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 21, 2006 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP

So this is a violation, and <font color = red>I was originally correct</font> - just extremely unclear in my description. (I sincerely apologize, as I know how annoying that is on here - especially since it has generated so much discussion about that particluar play).

Yeah right.....OOB isn't really OOB...you were right all along.:rolleyes:

Johnny Ringo Thu Dec 21, 2006 08:44pm

If you bat the ball with your hand that is legal ... but, what if you strike it with your fist? That is illegal, correct?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1