The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   force out call ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30253-force-out-call.html)

bbcowboy Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:12pm

force out call ?
 
In the Ky v Louisville NCAA game today, a L player made a move to the baseline and a K defensive man was moving with him. The L player last touched the ball as it went out of bounds.

The ball went out of bounds. According to the announcers (Billy Packer) the official called "force out" and awarded the ball to Louisville.

No foul was called.

I thought that it was either a foul or out of bounds. No such call as "force out" at this level.

Now in my backyard as a kid, we had "force out"s.

Any thoughts?

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:20pm

Thoughts? Yup, Billy Packer is an idiot. You cannot take any statement that he makes re: rules seriously. Ever. He is noted for not knowing the rules. The call that was made was probably an out-of-bounds call, as you said, but off the Kentucky player.

refnrev Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcowboy
(Billy Packer)
Any thoughts?

______________________
'Nuf said.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 16, 2006 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcowboy
In the Ky v Louisville NCAA game today, a L player made a move to the baseline and a K defensive man was moving with him. The L player last touched the ball as it went out of bounds.

The ball went out of bounds. According to the announcers (Billy Packer) the official called "force out" and awarded the ball to Louisville.

No foul was called.

I thought that it was either a foul or out of bounds. No such call as "force out" at this level.

Now in my backyard as a kid, we had "force out"s.

Any thoughts?

Pay no attention to anything that the idiot known as Packer says.

mick Sat Dec 16, 2006 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcowboy
In the Ky v Louisville NCAA game today, a L player made a move to the baseline and a K defensive man was moving with him. The L player last touched the ball as it went out of bounds.

The ball went out of bounds. According to the announcers (Billy Packer) the official called "force out" and awarded the ball to Louisville.

No foul was called.

I thought that it was either a foul or out of bounds. No such call as "force out" at this level.

Now in my backyard as a kid, we had "force out"s.

Any thoughts?

I truely believe that the "force out" is an employed, accepted and unspoken [by others] method of apology for a missed push that that wasn't enough to call (as a foul), but still caused the offense to lose the ball.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 17, 2006 01:17am

The force-out was an old rule from the NBA. They did away with it several years ago. That is why you have heard of it. As others have said Packer is an idiot, but additionally the little toad is also d@mn old. Therefore, he was around during the days when the NBA force-out rule was in effect. He just never bothered to learn that it no longer exists.

bigdogrunnin Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:05am

Billy Packer = Mute Button!

BTTB Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54pm

mick answered the question correctly
 
The answer to your question Mr. bbcowboy is that this particular situation, which is very common, is almost routinely miscalled (at least in the PAC-10). The rules call for either a change of possession or a foul. Invariably, neither is called.

Billy Packer was perhaps describing the extra-legal resolution of the situation as "forced-out" but he's not responsible for enforcing the rule. Some posters in this forum just don't like Billy Packer, that's all.

BTTB
:cool:

BktBallRef Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:13pm

That's true. I don't like Billy Packer.

It's true that there's no such thing as a forceout.

Finally, it's also true that there are a lot of moronic fans who don't understand officiating, the rules or how to apply them.

canuckrefguy Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
I truely believe that the "force out" is an employed, accepted and unspoken [by others] method of apology for a missed push that that wasn't enough to call (as a foul), but still caused the offense to lose the ball.

Insert picture of hammer hitting nail on head....

Back In The Saddle Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BTTB
Some posters in this forum just don't like Billy Packer, that's all.

BTTB
:cool:

You're response would imply that some posters here do like Billy Packer. I wouldn't put money on that ;)

canuckrefguy Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
You're response would imply that some posters here do like Billy Packer. I wouldn't put money on that ;)

I think what he's implying is that, for once, Packer maybe got it right, and that people on this board would rather slam their hand in a car door than admit that.

Adam Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy
I think what he's implying is that, for once, Packer maybe got it right, and that people on this board would rather slam their hand in a car door than admit that.

Now that's a little harsh. The choice wouldn't be quite so easy as you imply. ;)

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BTTB
[FONT="Arial Narrow"][B]The answer to your question Mr. bbcowboy is that this particular situation, which is very common, is almost routinely miscalled (at least in the PAC-10). The rules call for either a change of possession or a foul. Invariably, neither is called.

Billy Packer was perhaps describing the extra-legal resolution of the situation as "forced-out" but he's not responsible for enforcing the rule. Some posters in this forum just don't like Billy Packer, that's all.

What are your credentials to state that PAC10 officials routinely and invariably miscall this play?

1) NCAA D1 official?
2) Fanboy who has never officiated a game in his life?

I await your response. From your previous posts however, until then I think that I'll go with Door #2.

Raymond Mon Dec 18, 2006 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy
I think what he's implying is that, for once, Packer maybe got it right, and that people on this board would rather slam their hand in a car door than admit that.

Are you serious? Mr. Packer was correct when he said the official called a "force-out"? The official may have booted the call or may have given the ball back to A1 b/c he missed the foul or didn't want to call a foul. But that offiicial did not call a "force out", I guarantee you that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1