The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In your primary?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30206-your-primary.html)

rainmaker Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun
The same thing can happen in a three man game and should be part of the pregame. Awareness can work a lot of this out. I think us high school officials really need to work on our awareness to keep certain situations from happening.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
We high school officials....

When Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy slips up, he has to be held to account.

So is it official? Have we finally declared a winner of the vaunted position of Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy?

PYRef Fri Dec 15, 2006 12:55pm

I'm currently only working 8th grade games (2 official) as I'm new to this.

I work very hard not to ball watch and stay focused on my primary areas.

I only ask the question because what I've read on these forums by some posters directly compared to what is stated in the officials manual. Just curious as to what the overall opinion is. I want to do it right.

M&M Guy Fri Dec 15, 2006 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef

I only ask the question because what I've read on these forums by some posters directly compared to what is stated in the officials manual. Just curious as to what the overall opinion is. I want to do it right.

Well, to some extent, everyone's correct. Does that clear it up for you? :)

It has been proven that when an official calls outside their area, they are wrong way more than half the time. So when you ball-watch, or make a call that is outside your primary area, there's a real good chance you will be wrong.