The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 01:57pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
If the thrower holds the ball across the OOB line and the defender takes the ball away, are you calling an OOB violation?
No, because (as you well know, I'm sure, or you wouldn't be asking the question ), we are specifically told that the ball is in play and that the defender may hold it or bat it away from the inbounder.

Quote:
If the throw-in is a bounce pass, that touches the court inbounds, and then is touched by a player (either team) with a foot on the OOB line, are you still saying the ball "is already out of bounds."
Obviously not, because the ball touched the court inbounds. Legal throw-in. But that's also obviously not the situation that is under discussion.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Obviously not, because the ball touched the court inbounds. Legal throw-in. But that's also obviously not the situation that is under discussion.
It may be a legal throw-in, but until the ball is touched or goes out of bounds untouched, the throw-in is not completed. If a bounce pass goes out of bounds untouched, we bring the ball back to the original spot for a throw-in. That certainly is a throw-in violation. 9-2-2.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:04pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Obviously not, because the ball touched the court inbounds. Legal throw-in. But that's also obviously not the situation that is under discussion.
I didn't intend to stir all this up again, but since strange things are being said here...

This is NOT a legal throw-in, and does fall under the Penalty section of what we're talking about. The ball touching the court inbounds has nothing to do with whether or not the throw-in provisions have been violated.

And by the way I purposefully phrased the original post, this fits precisely into what we're talking about. The player you're talking about has out of bounds status, which is in the OP. The ball touching the court or not is irrelevant.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:11pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
This is NOT a legal throw-in, and does fall under the Penalty section of what we're talking about. The ball touching the court inbounds has nothing to do with whether or not the throw-in provisions have been violated.
Oops, you're right! But the ball does have inbound status at that time, I would think.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Oops, you're right! But the ball does have inbound status at that time, I would think.
Maybe by virtue of geography; but legally it's still a during a throwin. By rule, it's only status is "throwin."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1